Marshmallows are a popular treat enjoyed by people of all ages around the world. A big question Muslim have is: are marshmallows halal?
In this article, you’ll find a list of halal marshmallow brands you can buy today, plus, you’ll also learn other helpful tips and info to help you feel confident the next time marshmallows make an appearance on your grocery list.
Are Marshmallows Halal?
No, the majority of marshmallows you find in stores are NOT halal, however, there are some wonderful brands making delicious halal marshmallows that taste just like the real thing. The key ingredient to consider in terms of halal status is gelatin, which is a protein derived from animal sources.
The simplest way to determine whether the marshmallows you want to buy are halal is to look for a halal certification symbol on the package.
The “halal certified logo” is one of the most recognized. Seeing that symbol on a package indicates that the product is 100% halal.
If there is no certification symbol on the package or if the package does not clearly state that the marshmallows are halal then you need to do a little work to figure things out.
Ingredients to Look For
The squishy tasty candy is made up of corn syrup, water sugar, and gelatin. The key ingredient to consider in terms of halal status is gelatin, which is a protein derived from animal sources.
If the gelatin is derived from a halal source, such as beef or chicken, then the marshmallows would be considered halal.
However, if the gelatin is derived from a non-halal source, such as pork, the marshmallows would not be considered halal.
Consuming meals, beverages, or medications that include gelatin made from pig skin or other impure materials is forbidden.
According to Islamqa, if the gelatin is derived from something haram, such as pork or the skin, bones etc. of pigs, then it is haram.
Allah, may He be exalted, says:
“Forbidden to you (for food) are: Al-Maytatah (the dead animals – cattle-beast not slaughtered), blood, the flesh of swine”Surah al-Maidah 3
The scholars unanimously agreed that pig fat is included in this prohibition. If no haram substances or ingredients are involved in the production of gelatin, then there is nothing wrong with it.
It can be challenging to determine the source of the gelatin used in marshmallows, as it is not always clearly labeled on the package.
Many marshmallow manufacturers do not specify the source of their gelatin, making it difficult for consumers to know for sure if the product is halal or not.
If you are a Muslim looking to consume marshmallows and want to ensure that they are halal, your best bet is to look for marshmallows that are specifically labeled as vegan or made with halal gelatin. These products can often be found at markets or online retailers.
Consider reading: Are M&Ms Halal in USA, UK, Dubai And Pakistan?
Are Jet Puffed Marshmallows Halal?
Unfortunately, no! Jet-Puffed Marshmallows are not halal. Like most other marshmallow varieties, Jet-Puffed Marshmallows contain gelatin, making them inedible for Muslims. The gelatin used in Jet-Puffed Marshmallows is animal-derived; it’s made from pork.
Are Vegan Marshmallows Halal?
Yes, vegan marshmallows are considered halal-friendly. This is because vegan marshmallows are made without using gelatin, and plant-based products that can provide similar texture are used instead.
Some of the most common products used are seaweed-based gels such as carrageenan and agar-agar. The resulting marshmallows are considered halal-friendly since no animals products are used in making them.
Is Haribo Marshmallow Halal?
Unfortunately, most Haribo products aren’t suitable for halal eaters; this is due to the presence of gelatin in the manufacturing process. Most Haribo use either beef or pork gelatine, but a few of them use starch instead.
Are Dandies Marshmallows Halal?
Yes, Dandies Marshmallows are halal. With four vegan marshmallow options (regular vanilla and mini vanilla, maple, pumpkin, and peppermint), Dandies contain no artificial flavors or colors, corn syrup, gelatin, or gluten—perfect for plant-based eaters with food sensitivities.
Are Kraft Marshmallows Halal?
No! Kraft Marshmallows are not halal. Like most other marshmallow varieties, Kraft Marshmallows contain gelatin, making them inedible for Muslims. The gelatin used in Kraft Marshmallows is animal-derived; it’s made from pork.
Are Campfire Marshmallows Halal?
No! Campfire Marshmallows are not halal. Like most other marshmallow varieties, campfire Marshmallows contain gelatin, making them inedible for Muslims. The gelatin used in campfire Marshmallows is animal-derived; it’s made from pork.
What Makes Marshmallows Halal?
Marshmallows that are made with vegetable-based gelatin or other alternative ingredients, such as agar agar or carrageenan are considered halal.
Halal Marshmallows Ingredients
So now you may be wondering since all of the ingredients mentioned above are usually found in regular marshmallows, what goes into making halal marshmallows?
Each brand has its own set of ingredients, but they all have some things in common: a gelling agent, sugar, corn syrup, water, and so on.
Gelatin is the main ingredient that must be replaced. As a gelling agent, a plant-based ingredient called agar agar or agar powder is sometimes used.
Some brands that do not use agar replace tapioca syrup, tapioca starch, or other plant-based ingredients for gelatin.
Cassava syrup, soy, soy protein, rice protein, carrageenan, guar gum, natural vanilla flavour or extract, xanthan gum, or corn starch are all ingredients in some halal marshmallows.
Always read the ingredient list to know what you are buying.
In the list below, you’ll find a list of halal marshmallow brands, presented in no particular order.
Keep in mind that even though these companies manufacture vegan and halal marshmallows, that does not mean all of their products are also halal.
Dandies vegan and halal marshmallows are available in both regular and mini sizes. Because they are so popular, this brand is probably the easiest to find.
Dandies also makes maple-flavored and seasonal marshmallows (pumpkin in the fall and peppermint during the holiday season). This brand is also free of gluten.
2. Ziyad Marshmallows
Ziyad Marshmallows are halal certified and is made with halal gelatin made from beef gelatin.
3. Trader Joe’s
This American grocery store chain sells halal marshmallows under their own brand, but they are only available during the summer.
Yummallo sells a variety of marshmallow products, but not all of them are halal, so read the label carefully. They are primarily sold at Walmart and other online retailers in the United States. Yummallo vegan marshmallows are gluten-free as well.
4. Sweets From the Earth
Sweets from the Earth is a Canadian company that makes delicious vegan and halal products, one of which is marshmallows! This brand is also free of gluten.
5. Mallow Puffs
Mallow Puffs does not sell plain marshmallows for making rice cereal treats or roasting over a campfire, but rather delicious chocolate-covered halal marshmallows.
6. The Naked Marshmallow Company
This company makes a variety of flavoured marshmallows, but not all of them are halal, so read the listing/label carefully to ensure you’re getting the right product.
They are based in Belgium and only ship to various EU countries directly; however, they are available in Canada.
In conclusion, whether marshmallows are halal or not largely depends on the specific ingredients used to make them.
If the marshmallows are made with halal ingredients, such as beef or fish gelatin or vegetable-based gelatin, then they would be considered halal for those following a halal diet.
However, if the marshmallows are made with pork-based gelatin, then they would not be considered halal.
It’s always a good idea to check the ingredient list of any product, including marshmallows, to ensure that it meets your dietary requirements.