Is cocoa butter halal
Is cocoa butter halal

Is Cocoa Butter Halal? What You Need To Know

Is cocoa butter halal? Cocoa butter is a fat that is extracted from the cocoa bean and is commonly used in the production of chocolate and other beauty products.


However, as with any food product, it is important for Muslims to consider whether or not it is considered halal, or permissible according to Islamic law.

Is Cocoa Butter Halal?

Yes, cocoa butter is generally considered halal as it is derived from a plant source and does not contain any pork or alcohol. However, it is important to note that some chocolate products that contain cocoa butter may not be halal due to the inclusion of other non-halal ingredients or the use of non-halal processing methods.

You may also like: Is Skippy Peanut Butter Halal?

Why is Cocoa Butter Halal?

Cocoa butter in its natural form does not contain any dairy or animal products, making it completely halal. As long as you make sure your product is 100% cocoa, with nothing else added, it will be 100% plant based.


What’s more, as far as our research can ascertain, no cocoa powder is made using animal derivatives in the processing either.

The same applies to cocoa butter: not only is it made entirely from plant sources, but no animal derivatives are used to process it from its natural state.

Cocoa Butter is halal

Ibn Hazm (may Allah have mercy on him) said: The scholars are agreed that all grains, fruits, flowers and gums, and everything that is extracted from them, so long as it does not come under the heading of nabeedh (fermented drinks).

And so long as none of these things are toxic, then they are halal.

As for things other than animals, that which is impure (najis) is not permissible, because it comes under the heading of khabaa’ith (unclean, evil things), and it is not permissible to eat pure (taahir) things that cause harm, because Allah, may He be exalted, says (interpretation of the meaning):


“And do not kill yourselves”

Surah an-Nisa’ 29

So what is permissible is that which does not cause harm, such as grains, fruits and other crops, because Allah (may He be exalted) says:

“and makes lawful for them the good things”

Surah al-A‘raf 157

All of these come under the heading of the good things. Moreover, there is consensus on that and there is no difference of opinion concerning it.

Ibn al-Qayyim (may Allah have mercy on him) said:


What matters is the reality of things, and the ruling is to be based on that. The reality of things is the basis on which they are to be deemed permissible or prohibited.

Allah, may He be exalted, does not look at their outward forms and what people may call them; rather He looks at their reality and their essence.

Adopted from Islamqa website. And Allah knows best.


Similar Posts