Welcome to our blog post on the topic of whether Planters peanuts are halal or not. With the growing popularity of plant-based and vegan diets, many people are looking for snack options that align with their dietary restrictions, including whether certain products are halal.
Is planters peanuts halal? In this post, we will delve into the question of whether Planters peanuts are considered halal and provide some background information on the topic. We hope you find this information helpful as you navigate your food choices.
Is Planters Peanuts Halal?
No, planters peanuts are not halal. Planters Peanuts are not completely simple, nor are they free of animal products. Looking through the ingredients list, you’ll notice that it contains pork gelatin among the spices. However, Planters Peanuts is fully halal in various Muslim countries such as Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, UAE, Indonesia and others.
The gelatin, along with the salt and spices, contributes to the flavour, rendering Planters Dry Roasted Peanuts unsuitable for the halal-conscious consumer as well as those following an exclusively plant-based diet.
You can also make your own roasted peanuts at home or look for nut brands that do not contain animal by-products, such as Blue Diamond Growers and Wonderful Pistachios and Almonds.
Suggested reading: Is Balsamic Vinegar Halal?
It seems simple enough. Peanuts and salt. That’s two ingredients, right? Wrong.
If you follow a strict halal diet, you might be surprised to learn that this popular American bar snack isn’t always an animal-free source of protein. Spices, maize syrup, and gelatin are among the ingredients listed on Planters Dry Roasted Peanuts.
Gelatin is made from various animal products such as skin, hooves, and bones and can be found in a variety of surprising food items. If you’re wondering what it’s used for on dry peanuts, it’s an adhesive that ensures all the spices and salts stick to the surface of the nuts.
There are plenty of Planters options, and other brands entirely, that stick to a more simple ingredients list, but if you’re true vegetarian, now you know you can’t just carelessly eat salted nuts.