Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal
Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal? (Made in Turkey and Germany)

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal? Gummy bears are a beloved candy for many people around the world. They come in a variety of flavors and colors, and are a popular treat for children and adults. 


However, for Muslim consumers, it can be difficult to determine if a particular brand of gummy bears is halal, or permissible to consume according to Islamic law.

In this blog post, we will take a look at Haribo gummy bears, a well-known brand of gummy bears, and explore whether or not they are considered halal.

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

Yes, Haribo Gummy Bears Sold In The United States are considered halal if the packaging states that it is made in Turkey. This is because Turkey uses halal beef gelatin, which Muslims consider to be permissible.

However, Haribo Gummy Bears made from Germany, the UK, Austria, Spain, Brazil, France it is not halal. This is due to the fact they contain gelatin which is made from pig.


According to Islamic dietary laws, all foods are considered halal unless they are specifically prohibited.

Prohibited foods include pork and its by-products, animals that have been killed in a manner other than the prescribed Islamic method, and alcohol. In addition, all ingredients used in a food product must also be halal.

Haribo Gummy Bear Ingredients

  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Gelatin
  • Dextrose
  • Citric acid
  • Corn starch
  • Artificial and natural flavors
  • Fractionated coconut oil
  • Carnauba wax
  • Beeswax coating
  • Yellow 5
  • Red 40
  • Blue 1
Haribo Gummy Bear Ingredients
Haribo Gummy Bear Ingredients

When it comes to Haribo gummy bears, the main ingredients are sugar, glucose syrup, and gelatin.

Gelatin is a common ingredient in gummy candy and its a protein obtained by boiling the skin, bones, and tendons of animals.

The problem is that the most common source of gelatin used in food products is pork, which is not halal.


It is not permissible to consume foods, drinks and medicines that contain gelatin derived from the skin of pigs or other impure substances.

It is possible to manufacture gelatin from animals that are slaughtered in the prescribed manner, and it will serve the same purpose in manufacturing medicine or food.

Learn more about beef gelatin whether it is halal or haram.


Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Made in Turkey Halal?

Yes, Haribo Gummy Bears made in Turkey is halal. The gelatine used for this Haribo comes from cattle slaughtered according to Islamic guidelines. 

Haribo made in Turkey has been awarded a Halal certificate by EHZ (European Halal Certification Institute) and TSE (Türk Standardları Enstitüsü).

Haribo halal certified
Turkey halal Haribo

Therefore the Haribo is to be classified as halal. You can recognize Haribo Halal by the certificate on the packaging.

The production of Haribo Gummy Bears according to Islamic guidelines is under the strict supervision of the Turkish authorities. It is exported to other Muslim countries after production in Turkey.

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Made in Germany Halal?

No, Haribo Gummy Bears made in Germany is not halal. Haribo company has confirmed that their production facility in Germany, the UK, Austria, Spain, Brazil and France use pork-derived gelatin.

Halal Guide contacted Haribo to find out if their Gummy Bears Are halal and they replied:

Wed, Jul 7, 10:08 PM

Dear Halalguide,

Thank you for reaching out to HARIBO and for your question. Our production facility in Turkey uses only beef-derived gelatin; however, our manufacturing facilities in Germany, the UK, Austria, Spain, Brazil and France use pork-derived gelatin.To determine the gelatin source, please look on the bottom half of the back of the HARIBO of America package for the country of manufacture.

Kindest Regards,

HARIBO of America Consumer Care Team

To summarize, If you’re eating Haribo Gummy Bears check for the following:

Is it Halal certified?

If it’s not halal certified, check the Gelatin source by looking at the bottom half of the backside of the HARIBO USA package. The packaging will say “Made in Turkey” or “Product of Turkey,” or it will have a HALAL certified sticker.

If the Gelatin source is from pork, it is 100% haram. If derived from beef, then it can be classified as halal.

If the package you’re looking at is made from the following countries, they are made from pork Gelatin:

  • Germany
  • UK
  • Austria
  • Spain
  • Brazil
  • France

However, if the packaging says “Made in Turkey”, then the Gelatin used is derived from Beef. 

Since Turkey is a predominately muslim country, it is safe to assume that they don’t need to put a halal logo on every product since it is assumed that the slaughtering of the animal was done in accordance to Islamic law.



Leave a Reply