Are Airheads Halal
Are Airheads Halal

Are Airheads Halal? (Extremes, Bites, Soft Filled Bites, And Gummies)

Are Airheads halal? Are you wondering if Airheads candy is halal? If you follow a halal diet, it’s important to know what you can and cannot eat. In this blog post, we will explore the ingredients of Airheads and determine whether or not they are halal.


So if you’ve been curious about the halal status of Airheads, keep reading to find out more!

Are Airheads Halal?

Yes, Airheads candies are halal except for some popular flavors which has ingredients that aren’t halal. Several other varieties, such as AirHeads gum and AirHeads Xtreme are also halal-friendly as well. The original AirHeads do not contain any gelatin!

However, a few of the other varieties of AirHeads gummies do contain gelatin. Keep on reading to find out which AirHeads varieties have gelatin and should be avoided by halal eaters.

Airheads Halal

Original AirHeads Ingredients

Here’s the exact ingredients list of the original AirHeads variety. You will find the break down of each of these ingredients.


Original airheads ingredients

We briefly discuss about which are 100% halal-friendly and which ones are questionable according to Islamic eating standards. Let’s take a look!


Sugar is the main ingredient in AirHeads and it is considered 100% halal.

Corn Syrup

Corn syrup is the second ingredient in AirHeads. It’s another naturally-derived sweetener that’s extracted from natural sugars present in corn. It’s also very halal-friendly.


Maltodextrin is a refined starch. It is typically made from potatoes or rice, making it a completely halal product.

It’s a common food additive because it keeps otherwise liquid foods dry. AirHeads, for example, should be a syrupy, gooey candy, but they’ve been hardened into a somewhat solid shape that’s easy to bite into.



Dextrose is an even simpler sugar than maltodextrin and is processed sugar that imitates the same blood sugar molecule in our own bodies. It’s often added to candy to give it intense sweetness and is halal.

Modified Cornstarch

Cornstarch is commonly used as a thickening agent in candy and sweets. It gives the AirHeads a smooth texture and makes them more appealing on the tongue’s surface.

Cornstarch is chemically similar to maltodextrin; it is derived from corn rather than rice or potatoes. Cornstarch, like maltodextrin, is a halal-friendly food additive.


Palm Oil

Palm oil is plant-based cooking oil and it’s halal.

Citric Acid

Citric acid, derived from citrus fruit, is a natural preservative. The acid keeps bad bacteria at bay while also contributing to the slightly sour flavour that AirHeads are known for. Citric acid is halal-friendly and safe to consume because it is derived from fruit.

Artificial Flavoring

AirHeads are artificially flavored, so you don’t have to worry about any animal-derived “natural flavors.”

Artificial Colors & Dye

Finally, AirHeads are artificially coloured with food dyes. Fortunately for candy lovers, AirHeads do not contain any carmine dye derived from animals.

Instead, they use artificial colours like red 40, blue 1, yellow 5, and yellow 6, which are all halal.

Suggested reading: Are Dots Halal? Everything You Need To Know

Are AirHeads Extremes Halal?

Yes, AirHeads Extremes Belts (the original version) are 100% halal and are made using similar ingredients to regular AirHeads. The main difference is that they feature a more sour flavor.

The Xtremes Bites contain carmine (bug-derived red food dye) which, according to IslamQA is halal.

However, the other variety, AirHeads Xtremes Sourfuls, is questionable as it contains gelatin. As we know, if the gelatin is derived from halal animal, then AirHeads Xtremes Sourfuls will be considered halal otherwise it is haram.

Are AirHeads Extremes Halal

Are AirHeads Bites Halal?

Yes, AirHeads Bites are halal. The original AirHeads Bites contain both shellac and beeswax, two animal-derived products that are used to provide shine and texture.

Generally, insects are considered haram to consume, however, according to IslamQA, if insects are processed and turned into another substance, there is nothing wrong with adding them to food and other things, on condition that they do not cause any harm.

Are AirHeads Soft Filled Bites Halal?

The AirHeads Soft-Filled Bites are mostly halal but contain gelatin, making them non-halal as well. However, if the gelatin is made from halal animal it will be considered halal.

Are Airheads Gummies Halal?

Airheads Gummies are can also be considered non halal-friendly. Similar to the previous product, Airheads Gummies contain Gelatin.


If you’re a fan of the original AirHeads, then you’re in luck! The original AirHeads as well as the AirHeads Xtremes Belts are mostly halal-friendly.

However, some of the other modern flavors and varieties of AirHeads are non-halal due to animal by-products, gelatin.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Comments are closed.