Are Skittles Halal
Are Skittles Halal

Are Skittles Halal Or Haram? The ANSWER You Need

Skittles has been a delightfully sugary, sweet and tangy snack for years, but is it halal and permissible to eat it in Islam? This article looks into one of the most frequently asked questions regarding candies that are halal friendly: are Skittles halal?


Are Skittles Halal?

Yes, Skittles are halal. Skittles (the current version) are halal-friendly because no animal-derived ingredients are used in the manufacturing process. However, there are some questionable ingredients in Skittles that may cause strict ethical Muslims to avoid the rainbow-colored candies.

Aside from the original Skittles flavour, almost all of the popular flavours are halal and vegan. Despite the fact that Skittles have not been certified as halal by any Muslim organisation, Muslims believe they are halal-friendly due to their vegan nature.

This is a general Islamic rule that the vast majority of Muslims adhere to. Because there is no animal involved, anything vegan is considered halal.

Any animal involvement carries a risk because the animal must be slaughtered in order to be halal for Muslims.


Skittles’ original recipe had gelatin, which was used to keep the other ingredients in these candies together. Gelatin is an animal-derived ingredient that is primarily derived from the bones, cartilage, and skin of domestic cattle, most commonly cows, pigs, or fish.

As a result, the Skittle was completely unsuitable for Muslim. However, due to growing concern about animal cruelty, Skittle confectioneries in the United States removed this ingredient in 2010.

Wondering if other products are halal? Check out:

Ingredients Of Skittles

Some ingredients, among others, make it to the green zone for Muslims. They are as follows:

1. Corn Syrup

Corn syrup, which is made from corn starch, is added to Skittles to prevent the formation of sugar crystals. It also contributes to the candies’ volume and smooth texture.


2. Citric Acid

In order to add tartness, improve flavor, and preserve other ingredients, synthetic citric acid is frequently added to hard candies. Because it is not derived from animals, it is completely safe for Muslims to consume.

3. Tapioca Dextrin

Tapioca dextrin is a type of starch derived from cassava root. It is used as an adhesive candy coating in skittles.

4. Modified Corn Starch

This emulsifier gives Skittles their gumminess. Modified corn starch is derived from corn and serves as a gelling agent in confectionery.


5. Sodium Citrate

Sodium citrate is a halal-friendly salt of citric acid that is commonly found in tangy sour candies to impart tartness.

6. Carnauba Wax

Carnauba wax, which is derived from a plant, is added to skittles to keep the outer coating shiny and prevent it from melting. With no ties to animals, this is also completely halal friendly.

Even though gelatin was removed from Skittles about ten years ago, there are still some ingredients in these candies that Muslim find controversial.

Natural Red 4

Also known as E120 or carmine, this was used in Skittles made in the UK up until 2015. This is a typical red dye produced by boiling certain types of scale insects. It is clearly not halal because eating insects are haram.

Note that it’s always best to check the ingredients list just in case!

Are Wild Berry Skittles Halal?

Yes, wild berry Skittles are halal. All the ingredients are plant-based, so the Wild Berries Skittles are halal. We couldn’t find any ingredients in wild berry Skittles (that are sold in the US) that make it non-halal.

are Wild berry Skittles halal
Are Wild berry Skittles halal

Are Tropical Skittles Halal?

Yes, tropical Skittles are halal. The Tropical Skittles do not contain animal ingredients, so they’re also halal.

are Tropical Skittles halal
are Tropical Skittles halal

Are Sour Skittles Halal?

Yes, the Sour Skittles are also without animal ingredients and thus are halal. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sweets & Sours Skittles are halal.

are sour Skittles halal
are sour Skittles halal

Are Skittles Gummies Halal?

Yes, Skittles gummies are halal. They are vegan. Skittles gummies do not contain animal-derived ingredients.

In Summary, nearly all Skittles are:

  • Halal
  • vegetarian
  • plant-based
  • dairy-free
  • gelatin-free
  • carmine-free
  • gluten-free
  • kosher


Skittles do not contain animal ingredients, so they’re technically halal. Skittles are halal because they do not contain any animal-derived products.

Original, Sour, Wild Berry, and Tropical Skittles are all halal, but it’s possible that a new, limited-edition flavor could come out that isn’t. You should read the ingredients at the back before you buy. None of the Skittles contain gelatin which is the main red flag.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply