Are Dots Halal
Are Dots Halal

Are Dots Halal? Everything You Need To Know

Are dots halal? Are you wondering if dots, those small, colorful candies that are beloved by children and adults alike, are halal? If you’re a Muslim, you may be concerned about whether or not these treats are permitted by Islamic law.


In this blog post, we’ll examine the ingredients of dots, look at the halal status of those ingredients, and consider any other relevant factors that may affect their halal status.

By the end of this post, you’ll have a better understanding of whether or not dots are halal and be able to make an informed decision about whether or not to include them in your diet.

Are Dots Halal?

Yes, Dots are one of the most halal-friendly candies on the market! They’re made using a relatively simple recipe and don’t contain any gelatin or other animal by-products. Dots do not contain any gelatin, which is the culprit for making most gummy candy not halal.

Ingredients in Dots

Let’s look at the ingredients that are used to make dots. The Original Dots contain the following ingredients:


  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural And Artificial Flavors
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Artificial Colors (Including Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1).
Dots candy halal ingredients

Halal Status of Ingredients

Let’s examine each of these ingredients to determine their halal status:

Corn syrup: Corn syrup is a sweetener made from corn and is generally considered halal.

Sugar: Sugar is also generally considered halal.

Natural and artificial flavors: Flavors can be made from a wide variety of ingredients and it is not always clear what is included in “natural” and “artificial” flavors.

Natural flavorings typically come from plants rather than animal products, so these are assumed to be halal. However, artificial flavors have been created in a lab.


In general, it is important to be cautious when it comes to flavors and to check with the manufacturer to ensure that they are halal.

Red 40, blue 1, and yellow 5: These are food coloring agents that are commonly used in food products. They are generally considered halal.

You may also like: Is Planters Peanuts Halal?


Overall Halal Status of Dots

Based on the ingredients listed above, it is possible that dots is considered halal. Dots are halal-friendly because the ingredients are not animal-sourced. 

Moreover, all of the other ingredients are plant-based. These ingredients are for both Dots Original and Dots Tropical, so both of the candy types can be considered halal.

Are Tootsie Dots Halal?

Yes, Tootsie Dots are halal because the ingredients used in making the candies are halal. The ingredients are plant-based and no animal by-products.


Dots candies are halal since they are made without using any haram ingredients. Technically, Dots are suitable for halal eaters as they do not contain flagrant animal ingredients.

A lot of times, products that look like Dots contain ingredients such as gelatin, shellac, or dairy, but this is not the case here.


Similar Posts