Are Dum Dums Halal
Are Dum Dums Halal

Are Dum Dums Halal? Things To Know About Dum Dums Lollipops

Are dum dums halal? Are you a fan of Dum Dums lollipops but unsure if they are halal? In this blog post, we will explore the ingredients of Dum Dums to determine if they are suitable for those following a halal diet. 


Keep reading to find out if you can indulge in your favorite treat without compromising your beliefs.

Are Dum Dums Halal?

Yes, Dum Dums are halal. They are made with few and simple ingredients including sugar, corn syrup, and artificial flavors. These ingredients are generally considered halal and there is no meat or animal products in them.

What Are Dum Dum LolliPops Made of?

The basic ingredients listed on the mixed bag covers the whole gamut of flavors. These ingredients include:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Citric Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Salt
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Red 40
  • Yellows 5 and 6
  • Blue 1

Here’s a brief rundown of the ingredients used in the original Dum Dums:



Sugar is 100% halal. It is the main ingredient used in Dum Dums (and most other lollipops).

Corn Syrup

Corn syrup is also halal. It used along with the sugar to provide more sweetening and sustained flavor.

Citric Acid

Citric acid is halal ingredient. It is a natural, plant-derived acid that is used in Dum Dums as a natural preservative. It also contributes to the citrusy flavour found in some Dum Dums.

Malic Acid

Malic acid is a naturally occurring plant-based acid found in tart fruits such as grapes, blackberries, raspberries, and others. It’s used in the tart flavours of Dum Dums as a natural flavouring agent.


A pinch of salt is added to keep the Dum Dums from being too sweet and to balance out the acid’s sharpness.


Artificial Flavoring

All Dum Dums are flavored with halal-friendly artificial flavorings. These don’t ever come from animals, so they’re 100% halal!

Artificial Coloring 

All Dum Dums are artificially colored with halal-friendly food coloring as well. 

These ingredients are generally considered halal, as they do not contain any animal products or alcohol.


There is no evidence to suggest that any of these ingredients are not halal. In fact, all of these ingredients are commonly used in a variety of food products and are not considered haram (forbidden) according to Islamic law.

Therefore, it is safe to say that dum dums lollipops are halal.

Are Dum Dums Lollipops Halal

Why Are Dum Dums Lollipop Halal?

When looking at the full list of Dum Dums Lollipop ingredients, there is nothing that raises concerns. In fact, it proves that dum dums are naturally vegetarian and halal-friendly.

Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Uthaymeen said: the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to show that they are forbidden, because Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything”

Surah al-Baqarah 29

If we do not know that this thing is haram, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haram, then it is halal.

This is the basic principle concerning food, drink, clothing and customs. Dum Dums are entirely halal and safe. With no animal food coloring or gelatin, they pass most halal checks.

You may also want to check out the following related articles:


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply