Are Cheerios Halal
Are Cheerios Halal

Are Cheerios Halal? The Answer You Need To Know

Are cheerios halal? Are you a Muslim and trying to find out if Cheerios are suitable for your diet? As one of the most popular cereal brands in the world, it’s important to know if it meets the dietary restrictions of various religious groups, including Islam.


In this blog, we will explore the ingredients used in Cheerios and determine whether they are halal or not.

Whether you’re looking for a quick and easy breakfast option or just curious about the halal status of this cereal, this blog has got you covered.

Are Cheerios Halal?

Yes, Cheerios is halal friendly. Cheerios don’t contain flagrant animal ingredients like enzymes or gelatin. The main ingredients in Cheerios are whole grain oats, sugar, oat flour, cornstarch, salt, and tripotassium phosphate. These ingredients are generally considered halal and do not violate Islamic dietary restrictions.

A halal diet is based on the guidelines outlined in the Quran and the Hadith, which include prohibitions on pork, alcohol, and certain animal by-products.


What Ingredients are in Cheerios?

The ingredients in Original Cheerios is simple. It would be easy to assume they are halal-friendly.

The ingredients (source) in Original Cheerios include:

  • Whole Grain Oats 
  • Corn Starch
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Tripotassium Phosphate
  • Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols)
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients)
  • Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate)
  • A B Vitamin (niacinamide)
  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)
  • Vitamin A (palmitate)
  • Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate)
  • A B Vitamin (folic acid)
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin D3

The ingredients found in other Cheerios vary, but many remain the same. They tend to include whole grain oats and other healthy ingredients.

Based on the ingredients, Cheerios is considered lawful as it does not contain any non-haram ingredient.

Is Cheerios Halal

The general principle with regard to foods is that they are permissible, and nothing is disallowed except that for which there is evidence that it is haram and should not be eaten.


Allah Says in the Holy Quran Chapter 6 Surah Anaam verse 145:

Say, “I do not find within that which was revealed to me [anything] forbidden to one who would eat it unless it be a dead animal or blood spilled out or the flesh of swine – for indeed, it is impure – or it be [that slaughtered in] disobedience, dedicated to other than Allah.

Quran chapter 6 verse 145

Provided the ingredients used to make the Cheerios are not specifically declared haraam by Allah and His Messenger (SAW), the cereal would be absolutely halal for the believers to consume as food.

There are hardly any doubts on whether the ingredients used in making Cheerios are halal.


Sheikh Uthaimeen said that the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks and clothing is that they are permissible, unless it is proven that they are haraam, because Allah, may He be exalted, says (interpretation of the meaning):

He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everythingSurah al-Baqarah 2:29


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply