Is Turkey Bacon Halal
Is Turkey Bacon Halal

Is Turkey Bacon Halal? What You Need To Know

Turkey bacon has gained momentum and popularity in the food sector because it appeals to more health-conscious individuals.


Is turkey bacon halal? In this article and guide, we’ll highlight whether turkey bacon is halal or haram in Islam. Want to learn more about the halal status of turkey bacon?

This article reviews the process of making turkey bacon, determining whether it’s truly a halal-friendly.

Is Turkey Bacon Halal?

Yes, turkey bacon is halal with no stated prohibition provided the turkey is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law. It is permissible to eat turkey bacon because there is nothing to indicate that it is haraam.

What is Halal Turkey Bacon Made of?

According to Wikipedia, turkey bacon is a meat prepared from chopped, formed, cured, and smoked turkey, commonly marketed as a low-fat alternative to pork bacon.


It may be used as a substitute for bacon where religious dietary laws (for example halal in Islam) forbid the consumption of pork products.

Turkey is a type of bird that is halal to consume. Since turkey bacon is made from turkey meat, it will be halal to consume.

Is Turkey Bacon Halal

That is because the basic principle is that all birds are halal, because Allah says:

“Say (O Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم): I find not in that which has been revealed to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be Maytah (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like), or the flesh of swine (pork); for that surely, is impure or impious (unlawful) meat (of an animal) which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allaah (or has been slaughtered for idols, or on which Allaah’s Name has not been mentioned while slaughtering). But whosoever is forced by necessity without wilful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits; (for him) certainly, your Lord is Oft‑Forgiving, Most Merciful”

Surah al-An’aam verse 145

Excluded from this is that for which there is evidence that it is haraam.

Related readings Are Oreos Halal? What You Need To Know


Halal Slaughter of Animals

In Islam, animals that are not from the sea (crabs, shrimps etc) must be slaughtered in the halal way. The general guidelines for slaughter of poultry and animals are as follows:

The slaughter needs to be carried out by a Muslim or Ahlul Kitab.

Only a Muslim or an Ahlul Kitab (people of the Book) can perform the task required for the meat to be halal.


Begin by reciting the name of Allah (SWT).

The first step is to recite Allah’s name (SWT). This is to seek Allah’s (SWT) permission and carry out the slaughter in His name and only His name; the slaughter cannot be carried out in the name of any other deity.

Slaughter the animal with a sharp knife.

The animal must be sacrificed quickly and with a sharp knife in order to minimise pain. A blunt knife will only prolong the ordeal and cause the animal more pain.

Directly pierce the animal’s throat, windpipe, and blood vessels.

The person must place the knife directly over the animal’s throat and windpipe and cut as precisely as possible, removing all blood vessels but not the spinal cord itself. This causes the animal to die quickly and painlessly.

Drain the blood

Before removing the animal’s head, all of the blood must be drained from the body.

This is done to purify the animal’s body of any bacteria, toxins, or germs that may be present in the animal’s blood and cause various illnesses.

Is Turkey Bacon Haram?

No, turkey bacon is not haram. Eating turkey meat is halal and permissible. However, for the turkey meat to be considered halal, it must be slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law.


Turkey bacon is a great alternative for halal bacon and is considered the most popular type of halal bacon. But you should consider that Turkey has been slaughtered in accordance to Islamic standards.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply