Is Bacon Halal
Is Bacon Halal

Is Bacon Halal? (Beef, Turkey, And Duck Bacon)

Bacon is a type of salt-cured pork that is typically eaten on its own as a side dish or used as an ingredient in sandwiches, salads, pasta dishes, and more.


Bacon comes from a pig, but different types of bacon are made from various meat such as turkey, duck, and beef. Is bacon halal? In this article and guide, we’ll highlight whether bacon is halal or haram in Islam.

Is Bacon Halal?

Yes! Bacon is halal if it meets the Islamic guidelines for meat to be permissible to eat, or halal. In order for a bacon to be considered halal, it must be made with ingredients that are permissible according to Islamic law. This means that the meat used in the bacon must be from an animal that is slaughtered in the name of Allah and is not prohibited in the Qur’an.

In most cases, this means that the meat must be from a chicken, lamb, or beef that is slaughtered in a humane and sanitary manner.

On the other hand, bacon is considered haram if it is made from pork, which is not allowed in Islamic dietary law.


Muslims are only allowed to eat halal foods, which are those that are permissible under Islamic law. In general, this means that all foods are considered halal except those that are specifically prohibited, such as pork and alcohol.

According to Islamic dietary laws, Muslims are prohibited from consuming pork and its products.

This is based on the belief that pork is unclean and unhealthy for the human body. The Quran prohibited the consumption of pork and its products.

The ruling on bacon and other types of this food is the same as the ruling on its source, which is the animal from which the meat was taken.

So if the animal was one which it is permissible to eat, there is nothing wrong with eating it, or buying and selling it, because Allah, may He be exalted, says:


This day [all] good foods have been made lawful, and the food of those who were given the Scripture is lawful for you.

Surah al-Maa’idah verse 5

It is also essential to pay attention to the way in which the food is manufactured and stored:

It should be healthy, and cause no harm to the one who eats it, whether that harm is because of ingredients that are added to the meat during manufacturing, or because of the way in which it is manufactured and preserved.

If the meat is haraam, such as pork, or it is permissible, such as beef, but the animal was not slaughtered by a Muslim or one of the People of the Book (that is, a Jew or Christian),


Or it was not slaughtered in the manner prescribed in Islam – whether it was killed by stunning, drowning or any other way – then it is haram meat, regardless of whether it is processed or is sold in its normal form, because in that case it is maytah (dead meat), and maytah is not permissible for a Muslim.

Allah, may He be exalted, says:

{Prohibited to you are dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah , and [those animals] killed by strangling or by a violent blow or by a head-long fall or by the goring of horns, and those from which a wild animal has eaten, except what you [are able to] slaughter [before its death], and those which are sacrificed on stone altars, and [prohibited is] that you seek decision through divining arrows.

That is grave disobedience. This day those who disbelieve have despaired of [defeating] your religion; so fear them not, but fear Me.

This day I have perfected for you your religion and completed My favor upon you and have approved for you Islam as religion. But whoever is forced by severe hunger with no inclination to sin – then indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful. Surah al-Maa’idah verse 3

Read Is Dog Haus Halal? What You Should Know

Is There Halal Bacon?

Yes, there is halal bacon. There are many types of Halal bacon that you can consume, including Beef, Turkey, Chicken, and Duck bacon.

What Is Halal Bacon?

Halal bacon is not made using pork but can be made with a variety of different meats provided they can be interchanged with bacon.

How To Make Halal Bacon

The process of making bacon begins with a piece of meat, and for this bacon to be halal, the meat should be taken from an animal that was slaughtered and butchered in accordance to Islamic guidelines. Once the meat is taken, salt is poured over both surfaces of the meat pieces.

Then, the salted meat is placed in a refrigerator and left to cure for some time. And the salt will draw out the moisture and preserve the meat.

The final step is to take the cured meat and suspend it in the air in a smoker.

The smoke from the room will further cure and almost cook the meat and impart a distinctive bacon flavor.

Is Beef Bacon Halal In Islam?

Yes, beef bacon is considered halal in Islam since beef is halal for Muslims to eat. Beef bacon is only considered halal if the animal is slaughtered by a Muslim or one of the People of the Book (that is, a Jew or Christian), or it is slaughtered in the manner prescribed in Islam.

Is beef bacon halal
Is beef bacon halal

Is Turkey Bacon Halal?

Yes, turkey bacon is halal with no stated prohibition provided the turkey is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law. It is permissible to eat turkey bacon because there is nothing to indicate that it is haraam.

Turkey bacon is a great alternative for halal bacon and is considered the most popular type of halal bacon.

Is turkey bacon halal

Is Chicken Bacon Halal?

Yes, chicken bacon is halal. Similar to Turkey bacon, Chicken bacon can be assumed as a halal, unless it is not slaughtered in accordance with Islamic rules.

Is chicken bacon halal

Is Duck Bacon Halal?

Yes, duck bacon is halal with no stated prohibition provided the duck is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law. It is permissible to eat turkey bacon because there is nothing to indicate that it is haram.

Is duck bacon halal

Is Vegan Bacon Halal?

Yes, almost all vegan bacon are considered halal. The ingredients used are naturally pure and halal. Some of the more popular types of vegan bacon are:

  • Coconut Bacon
  • Soy Bacon
  • Tempeh Bacon
  • Seitan Bacon
Is Vegan Bacon Halal

Is Bacon Flavor Halal?

Bacon Flavor is considered Haram unless it is not taken from pork and is taken from animal meats that are halal.

An example of that would be the bacon bits that are commonly found in Halal hot dog stands.

It is labeled as Bacon bits, but it is actually made from soy. Soy is completely halal for Muslims to eat. Therefore, some of the bacon bits are considered halal even though they are meant to taste like bacon.

Always check the ingredients before buying any food that is bacon flavored.

Why Is It Haram To Eat Bacon?

Bacon is not Haram if is made from halal meat. However, if bacon is made from any part of the pig, then it is undoubtedly haram, because Allaah says:

“Say (O Muhammad SAW): “I find not in that which has been revealed to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be Maytah (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like), or the flesh of swine (pork); for that surely, is impure”.

Surah al-An’aam verse 145

Allaah has forbidden pork because it is impure and unclean.


In conclusion, bacon is considered haram in Islam if it’s associated with pork, which is prohibited in the Islamic faith. However, there are halal bacon such as beef bacon, turkey bacon, and duck bacon.


Similar Posts