Are Oreos Halal
Are Oreos Halal

Are Oreos Halal? What You Need To Know

Oreos are one of those recognisable cookies from our childhood! Since the introduction of the original Oreo cookie, the company has expanded the brand to include a variety of flavours and fillings. But, with all of the changes, you may be wondering are Oreos halal?


In this post, we will review this iconic cookie, as well as the ingredient list and company claims, so you can make an informed decision the next time you reach for your favourite cookie!

Are Oreos Halal?

Yes, Oreos are halal. The vast majority of Oreos sold around the world are halal and contain no animal ingredients (not even milk!). The ingredients used to make Oreo cookies are halal. However, OREO cookies sold in North America (the United States and Canada) are not Halal Certified.

When looking at the full list of OREO cookie ingredients, there is nothing that raises concerns. In fact, it proves that OREOs are naturally vegetarian and halal-friendly.

Classic Oreos, Golden Oreos, Double Stuff, and Chocolate Cream Oreos are among them.


Are Oreos Halal

Oreos official twitter site confirmed that their products are not halal certified. This has been circling around for a while now.


Note that there is a difference between:

  1. Halal certified (which is a stamp on the packaging saying it’s halal, which has certain requirements for a company to be able to print that, and it comes with a hefty cost, so companies choose not to go through the Hassel.)
  2. The ingredients containing something that isn’t halal. On Oreo’s website for example they say it’s vegetarian friendly. Vegetarian foods are halal since it has no animal products.

Why Oreo Is Halal?

Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Uthaymeen said: the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to show that they are forbidden, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything”

Surah al-Baqarah 29

And because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “What I keep quiet about is permissible”.

If we do not know that this thing is haraam, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haraam, then it is halaal.


This is the basic principle concerning food, drink, clothing and customs.

What Is Consider Halal In Islam?

According to the Muslims in Dietetics and Nutrition, a member group of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Halal food can never contain pork or pork products (including gelatin and shortenings) or alcohol.

Halal animals must be slaughtered by hand, not by machine, by a Muslim who says Bismillah. The animal’s blood must drain completely after it is killed because Muslims who eat Halal do not consume fresh blood of animals.


If those slaughtering the meat are from the People of the Book, namely Jews and Christians, it is permissible to eat it, and it is not appropriate to ask as to how it was slaughtered or whether they mentioned Allah’s name over it or not.

Oreo ingredients

Here are the current ingredients for the Original Oreo as available in the UK according to Oreo’s website:

  • Wheat Flour,
  • Sugar,
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm),
  • Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder 4.6%,
  • Wheat Starch,
  • Glucose-Fructose Syrup,
  • Salt,
  • Raising Agents (Potassium Hydrogen Carbonate, Sodium Hydrogen Carbonate, Ammonium Hydrogen Carbonate),
  • Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, Sunflower Lecithin),
  • Flavouring (Vanillin).

Please note that manufacturers may change the recipe of their products so make sure you double-check the label before purchasing.

While none of the ingredients in original Oreos are derived from animals or animal by-products, according to the company, this indicates that it is safe to consume.

Oreo biscuits produced in Europe are not Halal certified but their composition or production process does not make them unsuitable for Muslim diet. The exceptions to this are Oreo Strawberry Cheesecake, Oreo Choc’o Brownie, Oreo Enrobed Milk & White, Oreo Cadbury Coated and Oreo Crunchy Bites Dipped.

Are Oreos Halal

Are Oreos Haram?

No, Oreos are not haram. This is because the classic Oreo and many of its flavour variations are free of animal ingredients.

On this basis it is permissible to eat them so long as it is not proven that their ingredients include anything that that is known in sharee’ah to be haraam. If it’s confirmed that Oreos contain pig products, then it is haram and forbidden to consume.

For more eye-opening halal guides on what goes into your favorite products, take a look at these food guides:

Final Thought

Based on the information available about Oreo cookies around the world, it is safe to say that they are Halal and that you can use them without concern.

In some Muslim-majority countries, such as Egypt and the United Arab Emirates, the company explicitly declares that these biscuits are Halal because they have been Halal-certified by local Halal certification authorities.

And Allaah knows best.


Similar Posts


  1. Pingback: Are Oreos Halal?

Leave a Reply