Are Donuts Halal
Are Donuts Halal

Are Donuts Halal? Here’s What You Should Know

Are donuts halal? Donuts are a beloved treat enjoyed by people all over the world. But for those who follow a halal diet, the question of whether or not donuts are halal can be a bit of a gray area.


In this blog post, we’ll explore the ingredients commonly used in donuts and discuss whether or not they are considered halal according to Islamic dietary laws.

Are Donuts Halal?

Yes, donuts are generally halal. The main ingredients are flour, sugar, yeast, eggs, and milk. These ingredients are all considered halal. The only reasons a donut might not be halal, would be if it contained whey (a protein which can contain pork), gelatin (which is pork based), or used a glazing that contained alcohol.

How Are Donuts Made?

A donut is basically a fried ring or a ball of sweet dough that has been either yeast or chemically leavened. The dough is mixed and shaped before being dropped into hot oil to be fried and then glazed.

While the recipe varies depending on whether the dough is yeast or chemically leavened, the ingredients are mostly the same, with the exception of the leavening agent:


  • Flour
  • Baking powder or yeast (leavening agent)
  • Shortening
  • Sugar
  • Milk
  • Eggs (or egg whites)
  • Artificial or natural flavors

The glazing or frostings that are added once the dough is fried are a combination of flour, sugar, flavoring, and sometimes shortening, which is basically dairy-based butter.

Donuts are halal

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allah have mercy on him) said:

The basic principle with regard to food is that it is permissible, except that for which there is evidence that it is prohibited. If we are uncertain about something, whether it is halaal or haram, the basic principle is that it is permissible unless we find proof that it is prohibited.

The evidence for that is the verse in which Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“It is He who created for you all of that which is on the earth. Then He directed Himself to the heaven, [His being above all creation], and made them seven heavens, and He is Knowing of all things.”

surah al-Baqarah 2:29

That includes everything on earth, animals, plants, clothing and so on.


And Allah says (Interpretation of the meaning):

“And He has subjected to you whatever is in the heavens and whatever is on the earth – all from Him. Indeed, in that are signs for a people who give thought.”

Surah al-Jaathiyah :13

This verse shows that Allah SWT has subjected everything in the heavens and on earth that consists of the sun, moon and stars as well as everything on earth that includes the animals (for food and land transportation), plants and crops, ships and others for your benefit.

All of these blessings are a gift only from Allah and He granted these to you as His blessings and gifts. Hence, only to Him you should worship, and never associate anything with Him.


Based on that, the basic principle with regard to all food is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to prove that they are prohibited.

In conclusion, whether or not donuts are halal depends on the ingredients used and the preparation methods. The main ingredients used in making donuts are generally considered halal. 

However, it’s important to be aware of any haram ingredients or preparation methods that may be used.

Muslims should ask the shop or bakery about the ingredients and preparation methods before consuming. If you are unsure, it’s best to avoid it.


Similar Posts