Is Soy Sauce Halal
Is Soy Sauce Halal

Is Soy Sauce Halal? (Kikkoman, Gluten-Free, And Dark Soy Sauce)

Is soy sauce halal? Soy sauce is a staple ingredient in many Asian cuisines, but for Muslims, the question of whether or not it is considered halal can be a tricky one.


In this post, we will explore the various factors that determine whether soy sauce is halal, including the ingredients used and the manufacturing process.

We will also look at some of the common misconceptions surrounding soy sauce and halal foods, and provide tips for finding halal soy sauce.

Whether you’re a Muslim looking to adhere to dietary restrictions or simply curious about the topic, this post will provide valuable information on the halal status of soy sauce.

Is Soy Sauce Halal?

Yes, soy sauce is halal. Most soy sauces are suitable for halal people as they’re made from soy beans which are vegetables. Traditional soy sauce contains alcohol. But it is usually just 2-3% alcohol and it is only consumed in small amounts and it is not enough to intoxicate a person.


But since the alcohol content in soy sauce is so little, it is considered Halal. However, there are non-alcoholic alternatives to soy sauce like all-purpose soy sauce that are 100% halal.

Soy Sauce Halal

The fact is that as a Muslim, it is haram to add any alcohol to any food, whether in the marination or the final process, or while cooking or on the stakes on fire, it’s absolutely haram.

One word, even if the percentage is one percent, it doesn’t matter, because it’s haram to buy it, it’s haram to use it, and to sell it.

But since we are consumers and we go to the market and this is what we have, so it’s permissible to use it because it will not cause you to be intoxicated.

Soy sauce is produced through fermentation, since it cannot intoxicate and does not resemble wine in any significant way, it is allowed to consume.


There is no problem in using soy sauce in cooking and dressing. The percentage of alcohol present is negligible, and there isn’t a prescribed percentage that makes it Halal or Haram.

Rather, the prophet SAW gave us a measurement tool when he said, “Whatever intoxicates if consumed in large quantities, then a little of it, even a single drop, would become Haram.”

So, if you consume a lot of the soy sauce, whether in food or while dressing salad and the likes, no matter how much you consume of it, it will not intoxicate you.


It may make you feel sick, but it will not intoxicate you. Hence, it is halal in sha Allah for you to consume soy sauce.

Soy Sauce Ingredients

In its simplest form, soy sauce is created using 5 main ingredients:

  • Water
  • Soybeans
  • Wheat
  • Sea salt
  • Yeast.

These ingredients are all considered to be halal by Islamic law because they are all made from ingredients that are permissible under Islamic law.

Alcohol is not added to soy sauce. It forms naturally as a result of the fermentation process that can take up to 3 years.

Is Kikkoman Soy Sauce Halal?

Yes, Kikkoman soy sauce is considered halal. Naturally brewed Kikkoman contains about 2% alcohol by volume. Due to the fermentation process, alcohol naturally occurs in the Kikkoman.

Since the alcohol content in Kikkoman soy sauce is so little, little enough that you can’t get drunk or tipsy. It is considered Halal.

Is Dark Soy Sauce Halal?

Yes, dark soy sauce is considered halal. It can contain alcohol because of the wheat and fermentation process that it goes through.

Since the alcohol content in dark soy sauce is so little, little enough that you can’t get drunk or tipsy. It is considered permissible.

Is Dark Soy Sauce Halal

Is Gluten Free Soy Sauce Halal?

Yes, gluten free soy sauce is considered halal. There are types of soy sauce that are alcohol-free.

Is Alcohol In Soy Sauce Halal?

Generally, alcohol is Haram. If alcohol is fully absorbed into the food or drink and has disappeared in it, there is nothing wrong with eating or drinking such things at all.

If the essence of the alcohol remains present or its traces may be detected in the mixture, it is haram to consume this food or drink.

Is alcohol in soy sauce halal

Halal Soy Sauce Alternatives

If you do not want to consume alcohol, you can substitute alcohol-free soy sauces. Here are some alcohol-free soy sauce substitutes and alternatives to try!

Artificial Soy Sauce

This is the most commercially available type of soy sauce. It is made without wheat and contains corn syrup, hydrolyzed soy, salt, and colorings.

While this product tastes remarkably similar to traditional soy sauce, some consumers may be able to detect subtle differences in flavour and quality.

Because it is usually alcohol-free, synthetic soy sauce is an excellent substitute for regular soy sauce. It is also gluten-free as a result of this.

Artificial soy sauce comes in a variety of flavours; some use higher quality soybeans, while others process the mixture differently.

Because the synthetic soy sauce market is so diverse, we strongly advise you to experiment with different brands until you find a suitable replacement.

Coconut Aminos

Coconut aminos are a popular soy sauce substitute, and they are an excellent alcohol-free option.

Coconut aminos do not ferment into alcohol because they are made from fermented and heavily salted coconut palm sap.

Furthermore, coconut aminos provide umami flavours while also being slightly sweet and salty.

Kikkoman Tamari Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce is an excellent choice for those who do not want to consume alcohol or gluten.

While gluten-free Kikkoman undergoes fermentation, it does not contain any wheat. As a result, there will be no alcohol in the soy sauce.

Worcestershire Sauce

Worcestershire sauce is a fermented sauce as well, but it does not contain wheat. As a result, no alcohol will be produced after the fermentation process.

Worcestershire is a good substitute for soy sauce because it has the same umami and salty flavours. It does, however, have more distinct flavours and thus is not a perfect substitute.

Non-Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce

Alcohol-free soy sauce alternatives include non-naturally brewed soy sauce and all-purpose soy sauce.

There is no wheat to ferment in this soy sauce because it contains sodium benzoate, corn syrup, water, hydrolyzed soy protein, and salt. Furthermore, it is not fermented in the same way as regular soy sauce.

Tamari-Based Soy Sauce

Tamari is a miso byproduct that traditionally contains only soybeans rather than a mix of soybeans and wheat.

This soy sauce is much closer to the Chinese variety, and because it contains no wheat, it is also alcohol and gluten-free.

Tamari soy sauce has the same flavour notes as soy sauce but contains a higher percentage of soybeans.


Leave a Reply