Is Extra Gum Halal
Is Extra Gum Halal

Is Extra Gum Halal? Extra Polar Ice Gum, Spearmint And Other Flavors

Is extra gum halal? Extra gum is a popular brand of chewing gum that is enjoyed by people all over the world. One question that many people have is whether or not Extra gum is halal.


In this blog post, we will explore the ingredients of Extra gum and determine whether or not it is halal. So, whether you’re a Muslim looking for a tasty and halal gum option or simply curious about the halal status of Extra gum, this blog post is for you!

Is Extra Gum Halal?

Yes, extra gum is considered halal and permissible to consume. Gelatin, stearic acid, and glycerin are the most common animal-derived ingredients in gum. These ingredients appear to have been removed from all Extra gum flavours as of August 2019. As a result, all Extra Gum flavours are halal! This includes the newest Extra Gum Refreshers line.

Extra Gum Ingredients

Extra Gum is made from the following ingredient:

  • Sorbitol
  • Gum Base
  • Glycerol
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Less Than 2% Of: Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate
  • Aspartame
  • Mannitol
  • Acesulfame K
  • Soy Lecithin
  • BHT (To Maintain Freshness), and
  • Colors.

Extra gum is considered halal because it does not contain any ingredients that are prohibited by Islamic dietary laws.


The ingredients used in Extra gum are sourced from plants and are not derived from animals. Additionally, the gum is not processed using any prohibited methods, such as alcohol.

Therefore, it is considered permissible for consumption by Muslims.

Extra Gum Halal

In order for a food product to be considered halal, it must meet certain criteria, such as being free from pork and alcohol, and being produced using halal methods.

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allah have mercy on him) said: The basic principle with regard to food is that it is permissible, except that for which there is evidence that it is prohibited.

If we are uncertain about something, whether it is halaal or haraam, the basic principle is that it is permissible unless we find proof that it is prohibited.


The evidence for that is the verse in which Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [Surah al-Baqarah 2:29].

That includes everything on earth, foods, drinks, animals, plants, clothing and so on.


And Allah says (interpretation of the meaning): “He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [Surah al-Jaathiyah 45:13].

Based on that, the basic principle with regard to all candies is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to prove that they are prohibited. End quote from Fataawa Noor ‘ala al-Darb, 11/116

On this basis it is permissible to consume extra so long as it is not proven that their ingredients include anything that that is known in sharee’ah to be haram.

Is Extra Spearmint Gum Halal?

Yes, all of the flavors of Extra Gum are halal, including extra spearmint gum. It doesn’t have any ingredients that are a by-product of animals.

Is Extra Spearmint Gum Halal
Extra Spearmint Gum

Is Extra Polar Ice Gum Halal?

Except for the Polar Ice flavor, all Extra stick-style gums are halal. Polar Ice contains gelatin-coated flavor crystals, stearic acid, and glycerin, making it unfit for halal people.

These ingredients, however, were removed from all Extra gum flavors in August 2019. As a result, all Extra Gum flavors are now halal.

Is Extra Polar Ice Gum Halal
Extra Polar Ice Gum

Is Wrigley’s Extra Gum Halal?

Almost all the gums of Wrigley’s are halal. It has no ingredients that is derived from animals.

Please note that these are the Extra gum flavor options available in the USA. The range of flavors varies in different countries. However, the core ingredients are likely to be the same, so those living outside the US can also use this article as a handy guide to evaluating the vegan status of an Extra gum flavor.

Also note that manufacturers may change the recipe of their products so make sure you double-check the label before purchasing.


In conclusion, Extra gum is considered halal, as it is made using ingredients and production methods that meet the criteria for a halal diet.

With the exception of two flavors, Extra Polar Ice stick gum, and Juicy Fruit pellet gums, it appears that all Extra Gum and Chewy Mint flavors are now halal friendly!

However, if you follow a strict halal diet, it’s always wise to research the ingredients and decide if you want to buy it or not.



Leave a Reply