Are Enzymes Halal
Are Enzymes Halal

Are Enzymes Halal? Things Know About Enzymes In Bread and Cheese

Are you interested in the topic of enzymes and their relation to Islamic dietary laws? Enzymes are proteins that are found in all living cells and play a vital role in many biological processes. They are used in a variety of industries, including the food industry, where they are commonly used as processing aids.


But are enzymes halal, or permissible, according to Islamic dietary laws? In this blog post, we will explore the topic of enzymes and their halal status and examining the various viewpoints.

We will also look at the role of Islamic scholars in determining the halal status of enzymes and discuss the importance of understanding the source of enzymes when making dietary choices.

Are Enzymes Halal?

Yes, enzymes are halal if the enzymes are extracted from animals that were slaughtered in accordance with the Sharee‘ah, then there is absolutely nothing wrong with eating the food products that contain such enzymes.

But if the enzymes are extracted from dead animals, it is haram and obligatory to avoid them because it is impermissible to eat dead animals or any product whose ingredients include dead animal extracts.


Scholars base this ruling on the verse (interpretation of the meaning):

“Forbidden to you for food) are: al-maytatah (dead animals – cattle-beasts not slaughtered).”

Surah al-Maidah 5:3

The enzymes becomes impure by virtue of the animal’s death, and it is not possible to remove that impurity from it.

Are Animal Enzymes Halal?

Yes, animal enzymes are halal if the enzymes is taken from an animal that has been slaughtered according to Shari`ah, then it is pure and can be eaten.

If the animal enzymes is taken from an animal that dies naturally, or that was not slaughtered in accordance with Shari`ah, it is impure and should not be eaten.

When it comes to animal enzymes, the general rule is that they are considered halal as long as they come from a halal source. This means that the animal must have been slaughtered in a manner that is considered acceptable according to Islamic law.


It is also important to note that some animal enzymes may be derived from non-halal sources, such as pork, and would therefore not be considered halal.

Are Enzymes In Bread Halal?

The use of enzymes in the production of bread is common, and there is no inherent reason why the use of enzymes in bread would make it non-halal. However, the specific type of enzymes used and the source of the enzymes may be of concern.

Luckily most enzymes used in bread come from fungus and are halal-friendly. Although the enzymes used in bread seem to generally be fungal-based, there are several non-vegan enzymes used in commercial bread production.


This includes one such ingredient called phospholipase, an enzyme derived from pig pancreatic tissue.

Determining whether or not various enzymes are vegan and halal can be a challenge on its own since they can be derived from a number of sources, including animal, vegetable, bacterial, or fungal.

The Vegetarian Resource Group provides a few helpful examples:

  • lactase (fungal),
  • lipase (animal or fungal),
  • papain (vegetable),
  • pectinase (fruit),
  • protease (animal, vegetable, bacterial, or fungal),
  • rennet (animal), and
  • trypsin (animal).

Enzymes used in breadmaking that are derived from non-animal sources, such as pork and dead animals are considered non-halal.

Other enzymes used in breadmaking may be derived from plant or microbial sources, which would generally be considered halal.

Even so, many labels will not elaborate past “enzymes”, meaning a call to the company is in order before purchase.

Are Enzymes In Bread Halal

Are Enzymes In Cheese Halal?

It depends on the source of the enzymes used in the cheese. If the enzymes are derived from a halal source, such as plant or microbial sources, then the cheese would be considered halal.

However, if the enzymes are derived from an animal source, such as pig or non-halal slaughtered animals, then the cheese would not be considered halal.

Are Enzymes In Cheese Halal

Are Microbial Enzymes Halal?

Microbial enzymes are halal because they do not come into the definition of haram. They are synthesized in laboratories and do not contain any animal rennet or pepsin.


Similar Posts