Are Nerds Halal
Are Nerds Halal

Are Nerds Halal? (Nerds Rainbow And Gummy Cluster)

Are nerds halal? Figuring out if candy can be classified as halal or not can be tough. There are quite a few debates out there about what exactly defines a candy as “halal.” Plus there are so many weird ingredients in candy!


In this article, we’re going to take a deeper look into why Nerds may or may not be halal, and also cover some ingredients that are deemed “questionable” by some halal eaters, and whether or not they should be consumed.

Additionally, we are also going to provide you with some awesome halal candy alternatives that you will love.

Are Nerds Halal?

No, Nerds are NOT halal-friendly. Although most of the ingredients aren’t direct animal by-products, many colors of nerds use carmine dye, which is made from the crushed remains of red-colored cochineal insects.

Are Nerds Ropes Halal?

No, Nerds Ropes are not halal. Not only are they covered with non-halal Nerds (which use animal-derived dye) but they also contain pork-derived gelatin.


The gooey ropes that candy lovers enjoy so much are made almost entirely of gelatin and sugar, making them just as non-halal as the small nerds that coat them.

Nerds robes halal

What Are Nerds Made Of?

Here is the full list of ingredients in Nerds:

  • Dextrose
  • Sugar
  • Malic Acid
  • Corn Syrup
  • Carnauba Wax (Palm Wax)
  • Artificial Flavors
  • Carmine Color
  • Dyes: Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake.

For the most part, these ingredients are suitable for a halal diet. For example, dextrose is a sugar made from corn, malic acid is an artificial preservative, whereas corn syrup is a sweetener made from cornstarch.

Why Some Nerds Are Not Halal?

Unfortunately, most Nerds are not halal. This is because some contain carmine, while others might contain pork gelatin.

Carmine color is used in the red and pink-colored Nerds. Since it’s derived from insects, it’s, unfortunately, non-halal and is the main reason why Nerds are on the no-go list.


Islam web stated that carmine is unlawful to consume because it is unlawful to eat insects according to the majority of scholars for they are abhorrent and the normal person is disgusted with them. 

Allah Says (which means): describes the Prophet  sallallaahu `alayhi wa sallam (may Allah exalt his mention

and prohibits for them the evil… Quran surah Al A’raf :157


In addition, it is considered Maytah (dead creature). This is mentioned by Ibn Hazm may Allah have mercy upon him in his Book Al-Muhallaa and the evidence for prohibition is the verse: Allaah Says (which means):

Prohibited to you are dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah

Surah al Ma’idah verse 3

There is yet another factor that makes it unlawful, it is the fact that at some point in its process of value factoring, it is treated with (intoxicating) alcohol.

It is known that alcohol is impure according to the majority of scholars and it in unlawful to consume it or consume anything mixed to it.

So, there are two things that make this product unlawful first because it is made of insects which are unlawful in themselves and second because it is treated with alcohol.

Are Nerds Gummy Clusters Halal?

No, just like Nerds Ropes, however, Nerds Gummy Clusters are not halal-friendly. For one, the Nerds covering them are non-halal due to carmine dye.

Secondly, the gummy balls underneath the Nerds are primarily made of animal-derived gelatin, making them even less halal-friendly.

Are Nerds gummy cluster halal

Are Big Chewy Nerds Halal?

Yes, big chewy nerds are considered halal. The only Nerds that seem to be vegan are Nerds Watermelon & Cherry, Big Chewy Nerds, and Sour Big Chewy Nerds.

Are Nerds Rainbow Halal?

No, Nerds is not generally considered halal. Nerds Rainbow contains carmine, which is considered haram. Nerds Rainbow Rope contains gelatin to hold it together, which is made from animals. Nerds Rainbow Rope also may contain carmine, a red coloring made from crushed insects.

Why Isn’t the Gelatin in Nerds Rope Considered Halal?

Here is an email from Willy Wonka Candy Company:

“Thank you for contacting Wonka® Nerds® Rope.

Certain flavors of our confections products do contain carmine color, which will be declared in the ingredient statements on the product labels.

The presence of carmine color is dependent on the flavor variety. Please always read the product label for the most up to date information.

Also, if gelatin comes from pork we simply state gelatin. If it comes from a different source such as beef we would state beef gelatin.

We appreciate your interest and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions.”

Sincerely, Nia Palmer, Consumer Response Representative.

It is not permissible to consume foods, drinks and medicines that contain gelatin derived from the skin of pigs or other impure substances. 

It is possible to manufacture gelatin from animals that are slaughtered in the prescribed manner, and it will serve the same purpose in manufacturing medicine or food.

Nerds that contain carmine are:

  • Nerds Strawberry & Grape
  • Nerds Rainbow
  • Nerds Rainbow Rope
  • Nerds Very Berry Rope
  • Nerds Tropical Rope
  • Nerds Gummy Clusters

Gelatin, on the other hand, is used as a thickening agent in many food products like Nerds Rope. Nerds that contain gelatin are:

  • Every Nerds Rope Variety
  • Nerds Gummy Clusters

Halal Alternatives To Nerds

Here is a list of some vegan and halal alternatives to Nerds:

  • Yum Earth Organic Giggles
  • Candy People Swedish Gummies
  • Torie and Howard Chewie Fruities
  • Smart Sweets Gummy Bears
  • Love Hearts candies
  • Jolly Rancher
  • Tic-Tac (the classic ones are certainly vegan)
  • Gabstopper
  • Dum Dums
  • Fun Dip
  • Ring Pop (classic one)
  • Smarties
  • Fruit Roll Ups
  • Sour Patch
  • Motts Fruits Snacks

What’s most interesting about these alternatives is the fact they use real foods.

For example, they include beets, spirulina, blueberries, among other fruits and vegetables to replace artificial colors.

Additionally, you will also find pectin, which is a naturally occurring substance found in many fruits.

When cooked together with sugar, it thickens and obtains characteristics similar to jelly. It’s the perfect replacement for gelatin.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply