Is Sour Patch Halal
Is Sour Patch Halal

Is Sour Patch Halal Or Haram? What You Should Know

Sour Patch Kids are a type of sour candy that have gained widespread popularity, particularly among younger people. They are known for their tangy flavor and soft, chewy texture.


One question that many people have about Sour Patch candies is ‘is sour patch halal‘? We will look at the Islamic perspective on sour patch kids and discuss whether or not it is halal or haram according to Islamic law.

Sour Patch candies are a popular treat that is enjoyed by people all around the world. These candies have a distinctive sour flavor that is followed by a sweet taste, which is why they are so popular.

Is Sour Patch Halal?

Yes, Sour Patch Kids is halal as they don’t contain animal-derived ingredients like other gummy snacks. Sour Patch Kids sold in United States doesn’t mention gelatin in their ingredients. Also, Sour Patch Kids are free of animal parts and contains no alcohol.

Ingredients of Sour Patch Kids

In order to determine if Sour Patch Kids are halal, it is important to consider the ingredients that are used to make them.


Sour Patch Kids are made from a variety of ingredients, including sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, citric acid, natural and artificial flavors, and colors.

There is no evidence to suggest that any of these ingredients are not halal. In fact, all of these ingredients are commonly used in a variety of food products and are not considered haram (forbidden) according to Islamic law.

Therefore, it is safe to say that Sour Patch candies are halal.

Read also Is Milk Halal: Everything You Need To Know

Is Sour Patch Halal

Why Is Sour Patch Halal?

When looking at the full list of sour patch ingredients, there is nothing that raises concerns. In fact, it proves that sour patch are naturally vegetarian and halal-friendly.


Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Uthaymeen said: the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to show that they are forbidden, because Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything”

Surah al-Baqarah 29

And because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “What I keep quiet about is permissible”.

If we do not know that this thing is haram, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haram, then it is halal.


This is the basic principle concerning food, drink, clothing and customs.

Is Sour Patch Halal in US?

Yes, sour patch is halal in US. Unlike the UK variant, Sour Patch Kids does not list gelatin as an ingredient. Furthermore, the sugar used in sour patch kids is organic, implying that no animal bone char was used in the manufacturing process.

Based on this information, it is fairly to assume that sour patch kids are halal and vegan in the United States.

Are Sour Patch Halal In UK?

As is obvious, sour patch kids in the United Kingdom contain gelatin. Since gelatin is commercially produced from decaying animal hides, boiled crushed bones, and cattle and pig connective tissues.

It is halal if the gelatin is made from cattle and it is considered haram if the gelatin is created from pork.

Is Sour Patch Watermelon Halal?

Yes, Sour Patch Watermelon are halal! None of the ingredients listed for Sour Patch Watermelon contain haram or are haram-based. Except for Titanium Dioxide, the ingredients in Sour Patch Watermelon are exactly the same as Sour Patch Kids.

According to Green People, “Titanium dioxide is a naturally occurring earth mineral” and a vegan and halal-friendly ingredient. Therefore, Sour Patch Watermelon are also halal!

Is Sour Patch Halal

Is Sour Patch Gum Halal?

Yes, sour patch gum is halal. Unlike many other soft, chewy candies, there is no gelatin (made from pork) or alcohol used to create that bouncy texture.


Based on the information available about sour patch kids around the world, it is safe to say that they are Halal and that you can use them without concern.

Sour Patch candies are halal as they do not contain any ingredients that are considered haram according to Islamic law.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply