Are Rice Krispies Hala
Are Rice Krispies Hala

Are Rice Krispies Halal? Things To Know About Rice Krispies Treats and Kelloggs

Are Rice Krispies halal? When it comes to choosing breakfast cereals, you would assume that most are halal. However, there are added ingredients in many cereal brands that are not halal friendly.


In this post, we will explain whether Rice Krispies treat and cereals are halal or not halal.

Are Rice Krispies Halal?

Yes, rice Krispies are generally considered halal if they don’t contain gelatin. Gelatin, made from pork, is a gray-area ingredients that is prohibited in islam. Rice Krispies cereal that does not contain any pork gelatin or Haram animal products is halal.

However, all of the Rice Krispie Treats or products that contain pork gelatin are not halal.

For Rice Krispies to be considered halal, the Gelatin Source must be from an animal that was slaughtered in accordance to Islamic law. However, there are halal rice krispes that can be purchased easily!


If it is confirmed that the gelatin is only made of beef and not include pork, then rice Krispies are  halal. 

This is because, in Islam, there’s nothing wrong with extracting gelatin from the skin, sinews, and bones of animals that are halal (permissible) to eat and have been slaughtered properly, or from plants that aren’t harmful or poisonous.

This type of gelatin is halal, and there is no harm in using or consuming it in food or medicine.

Extraction of gelatin from the flesh, bones, and skin of pigs or permissible animals that have not been slaughtered in the prescribed manner is prohibited (Haram).

READ ALSO Are Eggs Halal? Everything You Need To Know


Are Rice Krispies halal

What Are Rice Krispies Made Of

In classic Rice Krispies Cereal, you will find the following ingredients:

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Malt Flour
  • Iron
  • Niacinamide
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B1
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin B12

In the specialty flavors, you may find the addition of the following Ingredients:

Cocoa Krispies


  • Cocoa
  • Maltodextrin
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Natural Flavors
  • Artifical Flavors
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 6
  • Blue 1
  • BHT
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Vitamin C
  • Reduced Iron
  • Vitamin A
  • Zinc Oxide
  • Vitamin E Acetate

Frosted Krispies Cereal

Contains the same ingredients as the classic Rice Krispies but, they contain more sugar.

Cinnamon Sugar Rice Krispies

  • Cinnamon

When looking at that list, gelatin stand out as unusual ingredient.

According to Kelloggs’ site, gelatin derived from pork is found in the following in the U.S.:

  • Kellogg’s® cereal products that contain marshmallow additives (Marshmallow Froot Loops cereal)
  • All varieties of Rice Krispies Treats® Squares

Are Kelloggs’ Rice Krispies Halal?

Yes, the Kelloggs’ Rice Krispies cereals are halal. However, other Kellogg’s products like the Rice Krispies Treats contain gelatin, a pork derivative, therefore it’s not halal.

Kellogg’s is the most well-known brand of Rice Krispies in America. They will tell you that their Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are not halal certified if you ask. The majority of products in America are not halal certified.

We are concerned that the gelatin used is derived from pork or beef. Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are halal if halal gelatin is used.

Pork gelatin is used in some Kellogg’s products, and beef gelatin in others. As for where they are used, they are not sure. There is no way to know for sure whether the gelatin used in the product we are buying is halal or haram, making it dubious.

When Muslims are in doubt and no clear answer seems to be there then it’s better to avoid such products. As pork gelatin can be used in Kellogg’s Rice Krispies they are considered haram or prohibited for Muslims

Are Rice Krispies Hala

Are Rice Krispies Treats Halal?

Rice Crispy Treats made with marshmallows do contain gelatin. Since a lot of gelatin comes from pigs, these treats are likely to contain pork-derived ingredients and this made them Haram.

In the future, if Kelloggs offers a Rice Krispie cereal that contains treats, marshmallows or frosting be sure to look closely at the ingredients for gelatin.

In general, rice krispie is haram if it contains gelatin that is derived from something haram, such as pork or pig skin, bones, and so on.

Allah, may He be exalted, says:

Forbidden to you (for food) are: Al-Maytatah (the dead animals – cattle-beast not slaughtered), blood, the flesh of swine

Surah al-Maidah verse 3

Pig fat is included in this prohibition, according to the scholars. There is nothing wrong with gelatin if no haram substances or ingredients are used in its production.


Rice Krispies cereal does not contain pork, as it contains no gelatin. However, Rice Crispy Treats made with marshmallows do contain gelatin. Since a lot of gelatin comes from pigs, these treats are likely to contain pork-derived ingredients and are considered Haram.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply