Are eggs halal
Are Eggs Halal

Are Eggs Halal? Everything You Need To Know

Eggs are a popular and widely consumed breakfast food all over the world. But, you may be wondering are eggs halal? When we talk about eggs, we mostly refer to chicken eggs.


Many animals, including ducks, snakes, and turtles, lay eggs. In this post, we will look at the halal eggs and the eggs that are Haram to consume.

Are Eggs Halal?

Yes, eggs are halal. Eggs from halal animals are halal and permissible to eat in Islam. Some scholars concluded that all types of eggs are halal to be eaten regardless of whether the egg originates from halal or non-halal animals except if there is evidence stating otherwise such as when it is harmful to those who eat it and others.

Regarding food, Islam has ruled it permissible for its followers to eat all kinds of food, with just a few exceptions. Hence, it is prohibited for us to claim something is prohibited when it is not.

This is in accordance with the statement of Allah SWT:


“O you who have believed, do not prohibit the good things which Allah has made lawful to you and do not transgress. Indeed, Allah does not like transgressors.”

Surah al-Maidah verse 87

In regards to the issue of eating eggs of animals, almost all Muslim scholars basically ruled it permissible to eat them.

Read Next Is Cotton Candy Halal? What You Should Know

Are All Eggs Halal?

No, not all eggs are considered halal. Some animals like snakes also lay eggs, which are considered haram animals, their eggs will also be haram.

Eggs from halal animals (chicken, duck, fish, etc.) are considered halal to consume. While eggs from haram animals (snake) are considered haram.

Maulana Abdul Muktader from Darul Ifta Birmingham states:


“Muslims are only allowed to eat eggs from those animals which are halal to eat such us, chickens, fish, etc. Those animals which are haram for consumption, their eggs are also haram to eat such as snakes. Only Allah knows best” source.

You should also consider the health aspect of this matter. It is prohibited to eat anything that is harmful, such as snake eggs. If there is harm to one’s health and can lead to food poisoning, then it is prohibited.

Are Chicken Eggs Halal?

Yes, Chicken Eggs are halal and permissible to consume. All Muslim scholars believe that eating eggs from animals whose meat such as chicken is allowed and also halal-friendly.


Halal Eggs

Halal eggs are eggs from permissible animals. Muslim scholars unanimously agree that eating eggs from permissible animals is halal. They, like fresh fruits, milk, honey, vegetables, and spices, are considered halal by definition.

Any animal that has no clear evidence on its prohibition is permissible to be eaten. This is according to:

“The original ruling for something is it is permissible.”

The types of animals that is permissible to be eaten is anything that would not harm us or our health. This is in accordance with a hadith of the Prophet PBUH:

“There should be neither harming nor reciprocating harm.”

Sunan Ibn Majah 2341

Here are a few examples of halal eggs:

  • Acceptable birds (chicken, duck, goose, turkey, quail, pigeons, ostrich)
  • Fish (roe/ caviar/ tobiko)
  • Crab, horseshoe crab

Can Muslims Eat Eggs?

Yes, Muslim can eat eggs since it is halal and permissible. Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Uthaymeen said: the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to show that they are forbidden, because Allaah says:

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything”

Surah al-Baqarah 29

And because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “What I keep quiet about is permissible”.

If we do not know that this thing is haraam, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haraam, then it is halaal.

Haram Eggs

Most Muslim scholars believe that eggs from haram animals are haram to consume. For example:

  • Reptiles (snakes, turtles)
  • Birds of prey (eagles, vultures)

However, Shafi’i scholars ruled them halal, except those from snakes and insects, due to their potential harms.

Imam al-Suyuthi stated the ruling of eating the eggs of animals and snake as the following:

There are no eggs that is impermissible to be eaten for us to eat. Some of the scholars of madhab al-Syafie exempt the eggs of snakes and insects. There is no doubt in it (the exception).” See: al-Asybah wa al-Nazoir (1/695).

According to the above evidence, it is clear that snake and insect eggs are prohibited to be eaten. While other animal eggs are permissible on the condition that it is not harmful.

Can Muslims Eat Eggs With Blood?

There is sometimes a spot of blood in the middle of the yolk of the egg, the blood spot doesn’t make eggs impure and haram, as long as the eggs haven’t gone bad.

According to Islamqa, the condition for blood to be deemed najis (impure) is that it be flowing, which is not the case here, so it is not najis. This topic was discussed with a group of scholars, and no other point of view was expressed.

Is egg with blood halal

Are Unlaid Eggs Halal?

Yes, unlaid eggs are halal. According to Hanafi scholars, an unlaid egg is considered halal, regardless of how the hen is slaughtered. It doesn’t have to be killed following Islamic rules.

Are unlaid eggs halal

Is Eating Raw Egg Halal?

It is halal and permissible to drink raw chicken eggs, provided that they have not transformed from their original condition into blood and the like which is called the rotten eggs.

The correct view is that raw eggs are permissible, on the basis of the principle that all things are permitted except those which have been expressly forbidden.

There is no evidence to suggest that this is forbidden, but it is allowed on the condition that no harm is caused to the person who eats it – in which case it would not be allowed, because everything that causes harm is haraam, as Allaah says:

“… and do not throw yourselves into destruction…” [al-Baqarah 2:195].

Is eating raw eggs halal

Are Egg Shells Halal?

Egg shells are halal and permissible to consume. Provided that they would not harm us or our health.


According to the above discussion, it is permissible to eat eggs. However, if there is harm to one’s health and can lead to food poisoning, then it is prohibited. Allah SWT states:

And do not throw [yourselves] with your [own] hands into destruction,” Surah al-Baqarah: 195

The above verse means that you shouldn’t place yourself in matters that could lead to destruction, however, you should do things that can lead towards safety.

May Allah SWT grant us all a clear understanding in religion. Amin.


Similar Posts