Is Cotton Candy Halal
Is Cotton Candy Halal

Is Cotton Candy Halal? What You Should Know

Cotton candy brings us back to our childhoods like nothing else. There’s something awe-inspiring about this seemingly physics-defying sugar and air candy.


Cotton candy’s distinct flavour has also found its way into a variety of other treats and beverages, ranging from ice cream to cocktails. But, with all these, you may be wondering is cotton candy halal?

Is Cotton Candy Halal?

The short answer is Yes, cotton candy is halal. The vast majority of cotton candy around the world is halal and contain no animal ingredients. The ingredients used to make cotton candy are halal.

When looking at the full list of cotton candy ingredients, there is nothing that raises concerns. In fact, it proves that cotton are naturally and halal-friendly.

For something to be halal, it has to be made using a process and ingredients that are halal.


According to Wikipedia, Cotton candy, also known as fairy floss and candy floss, is a spun sugar confection that resembles cotton. It usually contains small amounts of flavoring or food coloring.

Ratios vary by cotton candy recipe, but at minimum, here are the ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Raspberry, lemon, almond, vanilla, or other extract or oil for flavoring
  • Food coloring
  • Cooking spray or vegetable oil
  • Candy thermometer
  • Parchment paper
Is Cotton Candy Halal

Related readings: Is Wingstop Halal? The ANSWER You Need To Know

Why Cotton Candy Is Halal?

Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Uthaymeen said: the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to show that they are forbidden, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything”

Surah al-Baqarah 29

And because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “What I keep quiet about is permissible”.


If we do not know that this thing is haraam, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haraam, then it is halaal.

This is the basic principle concerning food, drink, clothing and customs.



Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply