Is Corn Dog Halal
Is Corn Dog Halal

Is Corn Dog Halal? What You Need To Know

A corn dog is a type of sausage that is coated in cornmeal batter and deep fried until it is crispy on the outside. It is typically served on a stick, making it easy to eat. But, is corn dog halal? Let’s find the answer.


Is Corn Dog Halal?

Yes, corn dog is halal if the ingredients used are sourced from halal sources. The halal status of corn dog depends on the ingredients used and whether or not they are sourced from halal sources. If the corn dog contains pork, it would not be considered halal.

It is best to check the ingredients and contact the manufacturer for confirmation.

Halal Corn Dog Ingredients

  • Hot Dogs (beef hot dogs).
  • Cornmeal and Flour
  • Sugar
  • Baking Powder
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Milk
  • Egg
  • Oil

In order for a food to be considered halal, it must be made with ingredients that are permissible according to Islamic law. This means that the meat used in the corn dog must be from an animal that is slaughtered in the name of Allah and is not prohibited in the Qur’an. 

In most cases, this means that the meat must be from a chicken, lamb, or beef that is slaughtered in a humane and sanitary manner.


RELATED Is Spam Halal? The Answer You Should Know

In addition to this, the corn dog must also be prepared in a way that is consistent with Islamic dietary laws. This means that it should not be cooked with any alcohol or other prohibited substances, and should not be contaminated with any non-halal ingredients.

Many corn dog manufacturers use ingredients that are sourced from non-halal suppliers, such as pork or pork-based products. In order for a corn dog to be considered halal, it must be made with halal ingredients.

Is Corn Dog Halal

IslamQA stated that the ruling on sausages and mortadella, and other types of this food is the same as the ruling on its source, which is the animal from which the processed meat was taken. 

So if the animal was one which it is permissible to eat, there is nothing wrong with eating it, or buying and selling it, because Allah, may He be exalted, says:


This day [all] good foods have been made lawful, and the food of those who were given the Scripture is lawful for you

Surah al-Maa’idah verse 5

It is also essential to pay attention to the way in which the food is manufactured and stored: it should be healthy, and cause no harm to the one who eats it, whether that harm is because of ingredients that are added to the meat during manufacturing, or because of the way in which it is manufactured and preserved.

If the meat is haraam, such as pork, or it is permissible, such as beef, but the animal was not slaughtered by a Muslim or one of the People of the Book (that is, a Jew or Christian), or it was not slaughtered in the manner prescribed in Islam – whether it was killed by stunning, drowning or any other way – then it is haraam meat, regardless of whether it is processed or is sold in its normal form, because in that case it is maytah (dead meat), and maytah is not permissible for a Muslim. 

Allah, may He be exalted, says:


{Prohibited to you are dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah , and [those animals] killed by strangling or by a violent blow or by a head-long fall or by the goring of horns, and those from which a wild animal has eaten, except what you [are able to] slaughter [before its death], and those which are sacrificed on stone altars, and [prohibited is] that you seek decision through divining arrows.

That is grave disobedience. This day those who disbelieve have despaired of [defeating] your religion; so fear them not, but fear Me.

This day I have perfected for you your religion and completed My favor upon you and have approved for you Islam as religion. But whoever is forced by severe hunger with no inclination to sin – then indeed, Allah is Forgiving and Merciful

Surah al-Maa’idah verse 3

And Allah knows best.


Leave a Reply