Advertisements

Are Welch's Fruit Snacks Halal
Are Welch's Fruit Snacks Halal

Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Halal? What You Need To Know

Welch’s Fruit Snacks are sweet and gummy popular fruit snacks. They come in a variety of flavors to satisfy a sweet tooth. Many gummy snacks contain ingredients that are made from pork products and are not Halal. But are Welch’s Fruit Snacks halal? Read on to find out more.

Advertisements

Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Halal?

No, Welch’s Fruit Snacks are not halal. They contain gelatin, typically derived from beef or pork. The Manufacturer has confirmed that the gelatin in their products is sourced from Beef and Pork.

Welch’s Fruit Snacks Ingredients

Welch’s fruit snacks come in a wide variety of flavors, but we can look at a few and understand the basics about their ingredients since they share most major ingredients. 

The original fruity snacks come in many flavors. Let’s check out the ingredient list for the Mixed Fruit flavor.

Mixed Fruit Ingredients: Fruit puree (grape, peach, orange, strawberry and raspberry), corn syrup, sugar, modified corn starch, gelatin, concord grape juice from concentrate, citric acid, lactic acid, natural and artificial flavors, ascorbic acid (vitamin C), alpha tocopherol acetate (vitamin E), vitamin A palmitate, sodium citrate, coconut oil, carnauba wax, annatto (color), turmeric (color), red 40, and blue 1.

Advertisements

Unfortunately, the gummy snacks contain gelatin created from pork and are not halal. All of their flavors (which are listed below) also contain gelatin.

  • Summer Fruits
  • Berries ‘n Cherries
  • Island Fruits
  • Superfruit Mix
  • Strawberry
  • Apple Orchard Medley
  • Citrus Medley
  • Fruit Punch
  • Concord Grape
  • Reduced Sugar Mixed Fruit
  • Reduced Sugar Berries ‘n Cherries

Unfortunately, gelatin is a common ingredient in gummy products. According to Wikipedia, Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs.

Are Welch's Fruit Snacks Halal

Why Welch’s Fruit Snacks Is Not Halal?

According to Islamqa website, it is halal to use gelatin that is extracted from halal substances and permissible animals that have been slaughtered in the prescribed manner, and it is NOT HALAL to extract it from haram sources such as the skin and bones of pigs and other haram animals and haram substances.

The pig is haraam and najis (impure); it is haraam to eat its meat or fat, and it is not permissible to eat a little of it or part of it. If some parts of its meat or fat is found in bread, food or medicine, it is haraam to consume it at all.

Pork is forbidden in Islam according to the text of the Quran, where Allah says:

Advertisements

He has forbidden you only the Maytah (dead animals), and blood, and the flesh of swine…”

Surah al-Baqarah verse 173

It is not permissible for a Muslim to consume it under any circumstances except in cases of necessity where a person’s life depends on eating it, such as in the case of starvation where a person fears that he is going to die, and he cannot find any other kind of food, based on the shar’i principle:

“In cases of necessity, haram things are permitted.”

And there is a general reason which is given with regard to the prohibition on haram food and drink and the like, which points to the reason behind the prohibition on pork.

Advertisements

This general reason is to be found in the verse in which Allah says:

“He [i.e., the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him)] allows them as lawful At-Tayyibat (i.e. all good and lawful as regards things, deeds, beliefs, persons and foods), and prohibits them as unlawful Al-Khabaith (i.e. all evil and unlawful as regards things, deeds, beliefs, persons and foods).”

Surah al-A’raf ayat 157

The general meaning of this verse includes the reason for the prohibition on pork and it may be understood that in the Islamic viewpoint, it is included among the list of things that are evil and unlawful (al-khabaith).

Are Welch's Fruit Snacks Halal

Conclusion

Welch’s Fruit Snacks are not halal friendly. Their regular and juicy fruit snacks contain gelatin which is made from pork and beef bones and other ingredients.

The good news is that there are a lot of halal alternatives out there that will give you the same fruity taste in a gummy snack without the pork gelatin.

Wondering if other foods are halal? Check out:

Advertisements

One Comment

Leave a Reply