Is Gelato Halal
Is Gelato Halal

Is Gelato Halal? What You Should Know About Gelato Ice Cream

Is gelato halal? Gelato is a popular Italian dessert that has gained popularity around the world. Many people who follow a halal diet may be wondering if they can enjoy this delicious treat.


In this post, we’ll take a closer look at the ingredients and production process of gelato to determine if it meets the requirements for a halal food.

Is Gelato Halal?

Yes, gelato is generally considered to be halal as it’s made from halal ingredients. When it comes to gelato, the main ingredients are milk, cream, sugar, and various flavorings. These ingredients are all considered halal, as long as they do not contain any prohibited substances.

There is no harm in consuming gelato unless it contains alcohol or is proven to be harmful to one’s health.

The basic principle is that all kinds of food and beverages are lawful unless proven unlawful with sharee’ah evidence, according to the scholarly consensus.


Hence, it is permissible to consume all kinds of food and beverages except for what is detrimental to one’s health or what contains impure ingredients.

In his book Az-Zaad, Al-Hajjaawi may Allah have mercy upon him said in the chapter about food, “The basic principle is that all kinds of food are lawful as long as they are ritually pure and do not cause harm.”

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymin said: “The basic principle concerning all kinds of food, drink and clothing is that they are permissible until and unless proof is established that they are haram. Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [Surah al-Baqarah 2:29]

So if anyone says, this drink is haram, or this food is haram, or this garment is haram, say to him, bring your proof.


If he brings proof then we should do whatever is indicated by the proof. If he does not bring proof, then his words are to be rejected, because Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [al-Baqarah 2:29]

Is Gelato Halal

Everything in this world Allah has created for us. This general meaning is confirmed by the word jami’an (translated here as “all”). And Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):


“Why should you not eat of what is slaughtered in Allah’s Name when He has already explained to you what He has forbidden to you—except when compelled by necessity? Many ˹deviants˺ certainly mislead others by their whims out of ignorance. Surely your Lord knows the transgressors best.”

Surah al-An’am 6:119

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.

The gelato that is to be found in our markets is all halal and there is no doubt concerning that in sha Allah.

In summary, gelato is generally considered halal as long as it is made with halal ingredients and produced in accordance with halal guidelines.

However, it’s important to check the ingredient list to ensure that the gelato you’re buying is truly halal.


One Comment

Leave a Reply