Is Mussels Halal
Is Mussels Halal

Is Mussels Halal? The Answer You Need To Know

Mussels are a type of seafood that belong to the bivalve mollusk family. They are small, typically freshwater or saltwater creatures that are found in both freshwater and marine environments.


Mussels are often used as a food source and are typically cooked by steaming or boiling. But what about its halal status? Is mussels halal or harm?

In this post, we will look at the Islamic perspective on mussels and discuss whether or not eating mussels is halal according to Islamic law.

Is Mussels Halal?

Yes, mussels, like all other seafood, are generally considered halal, or permissible, for Muslims to eat. Eating all types of sea animals is halal in Islam, according to the majority of jurists. Eating mussels is also halal in this regard. All seafood is halal and permissible to eat according to Sunni (Shafi, Maliki, and Hanbali)

The Qur’an does not explicitly prohibit the consumption of seafood. In fact, seafood is specifically mentioned as being permissible for Muslims to eat in Surah Al-Maidah, verse 96 of the Qur’an, which states:


أُحِلَّ لَكُمۡ صَيۡدُ ٱلۡبَحۡرِ وَطَعَامُهُۥ مَتَٰعًا لَّكُمۡ وَلِلسَّيَّارَةِۖ


“Lawful to you is game from the sea and its food as provision for you and the travelers”

Why Mussels Is Halal?

Mussels is halal because Allah and His Prophet (Blessings and peace be upon him) have allowed it. Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said that two types of dead animals and two types of blood are halal to eat.

The types of dead animals are seafood which includes mussels, calamari, octopus, lobster, crab, shrimp, and locusts. The two types of blood are the liver and the spleen.


The above-mentioned verse validates that all of the sea animals are permitted to eat wherever and however they are found.

Whatever its name is, whoever catches it, either Muslim or non-Muslim, either it is dead or alive the same rule applies; those animals are lawful (halal) to eat.

Abu Hurayrah reports: ‘A man said: “O Messenger of Allah, we travel by sea and we carry with us some water. If we are to use it for ablution we will be thirsty and without water to drink. Can we do our ablution with sea water?” The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “The sea water is pure, and its dead animals are lawful to eat.’

Related by Ahmad, Abu Dawud, al-Tirmidhi, and al-Nassa’i
Is Mussels Halal

Furthermore, one of Islam’s fundamental principles is that all worldly things are halal unless they are forbidden in Islam.


Eating mussels, for example, is not prohibited in the Quran or Hadith. As a result, they are halal.

Neither Allah nor His Messenger excluded any type of sea foods from this permission and we know that “Allah is never forgetful“, the vast majority of scholars hold the view that all varieties of fish found in water (including the sea, lakes, rivers, ponds, wells, and so on) are permissible for us to consume.

RELATED READINGS: Is Shark Halal? The Answer You Need To Know

Shaikh Assim Al Hakeem, stated that unless Allah mentions a specific food in the Quran as haram, it is safe to assume that it is Halal.

He also mentions that there are foods that are obviously haram. This includes foods that were not slaughtered in accordance to Islamic guidelines.

ALLAH says;

It is He Who has made the sea subject, that you may eat thereof flesh that is fresh and tender.

Surah an- Nahl, 14

With the above ayah, Allah Almighty grants permission for all sea animals without exception and with no requirement of slaughtering.

In this manner, He makes it easy and comprehensive for His servants. Of course, it excludes anything dangerous, such as poisonous fish and plants that cause an allergic reaction – always putting the health of yourself and others above all else.

Since mussels is not one of the exceptions (it is not tortured or dangerous), it is considered Halal seafood and can be eaten without slaughtering by Shafi’i, Hanbali, and Maliki.

Is Mussels Halal Hanafi?

Many scholars of the Hanafi school consider it haram to eat mussels. Some of them consider it Makrooh and some of them even consider it halal.

Because according to Hanafi Madhhab, it is halal to eat only fish from aquatic animals. It is not halal to eat any other animal. As such, since mussels is not a fish, it is not halal to eat it.

Other sea or water creatures that are not fish are therefore makrooh according to Hanafid. This includes fish with gills (such as prawns, lobsters, and crabs, which are crustaceans), as well as mollusks such as clams, octopus, mussels, and squid.


Overall, mussels and other seafood are generally considered halal for Muslims to eat. However, there are certain types of water animals which are Haram and forbidden such as crocodiles, frogs, otters and turtles.

There is no proof in the Qur’an or Sunnah directly forbidding mussels.

However, if medical science proves harmful to the human body in the case of any sea animal, then it will be haram. Because Islam does not support anything that is harmful to the human body. Whether it is sea or land.