Are Peeps Halal
Are Peeps Halal

Are Peeps Halal? What You Need to Know About the Marshmallow

Are Peeps Halal? Peeps are a beloved treat, known for their fluffy marshmallow texture and bright, colorful appearance. However, for those following a halal diet, the question of whether or not Peeps are permissible to consume can be a bit of a grey area.


In this blog post, we’ll take a closer look at the ingredients and explore whether or not they meet the guidelines set forth by Islamic dietary laws.

Are Peeps Halal?

No, peeps are not halal. They use pork derived gelatin in their Peeps marshmallow to achieve a light, soft texture. Peeps aren’t suitable for halal eaters; this is due to the presence of gelatin (The gelatine in peeps comes from pigs).

According to the company that makes them:

“Our marshmallow candies are not vegan because they contain pork-derived gelatin,” says a statement from Just Born, the manufacturer of Peeps. The company claims the pork is essential for the “great eating experience” it creates. “We have done a great deal of research, analysis and testing using alternative sources of gelatin and have not been able to identify a consistent alternative that provides the same great eating experience that our current gelatin provides.”


Consuming meals, beverages, or medications that include gelatin made from pig skin or other impure materials is forbidden in Islam.

If the gelatin is derived from something haram, such as pork or the skin, bones etc. of pigs, then it is haram. Allah, may He be exalted, says:

“Forbidden to you (for food) are: Al-Maytatah (the dead animals – cattle-beast not slaughtered), blood, the flesh of swine”

Surah al-Maidah verse 3

The scholars unanimously agreed that pig fat is included in this prohibition. If no haram substances or ingredients are involved in the production of gelatin, then there is nothing wrong with it.

Is Peeps Marshmallow halal

What Are Some Halal Alternatives to Peeps?

If you still want something cute and marshmallow, – just without the animal ingredients – there are several options to try.

Dandies is one of the favorite brands of halal marshmallows, free of corn syrup and gluten in addition to being entirely plant-based.


Since a 2019 reformulation, Trader Joe’s house-brand marshmallows are also halal. TJ’s reportedly uses a seaweed base to stand in for the animal-derived ingredients in gelatin.

Is Peeps Marshmallow Halal?

Unfortunately, peeps Marshmallow is not halal. The marshmallows contain gelatin, a pork-derived fatty compound, thus they are far from being halal.




Similar Posts

Leave a Reply