Is Hi Chew Halal
Is Hi Chew Halal

Is Hi Chew Halal? (Quick Facts)

Are you a fan of Hi-Chew candies? If so, you may be wondering ‘is Hi Chew halal?’. Hi-Chew is a popular chewy candy that originated in Japan and has since become a beloved treat around the world.


The candy’s unique texture and delicious flavors make it a favorite among candy lovers of all ages. However, for those who follow a halal diet, it’s important to know whether or not a product is suitable for consumption.

Is Hi Chew Halal?

No, Hi-Chew is not halal. All of the main flavors and varieties of Hi-Chew contain gelatin. The only Hi-Chews that don’t contain gelatin are the Hi-Chew Bites. The company, Hi-Chew replied to a FAQ regarding its ingredients in which it was asked what type of gelatin is used in the product to which the company replied Hi-Chew products contain pork gelatin.


Hi-Chew is a mixture of syrup and sugar that gives it the sweetness, but the following is the ingredient profile of the Strawberry flavor found on their website:

  • Glucose Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil
  • Pork Gelatine
  • Malic Acid
  • Citric Acid
  • Strawberry Flavors
  • Strawberry Concentrated Juice
  • Emulsifiers (sucrose esters of fatty acids, sorbitan monostearate)
  • Colour Anthocyanin
Hi chew halal

Pork is haram and it is not permissible to eat it, whether it is the meat, fat or any other part, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):


“Forbidden to you (for food) are: Al-Maitah (the dead animals — cattle — beast not slaughtered), blood, the flesh of swine

Surah al-Maa’idah :3

The Muslims are agreed that all parts of the pig are haram. Allah has forbidden it because of the harmful things it contains and because it is impure, as Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“Say (O Muhammad): ‘I find not in that which has been revealed to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be Maitah (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like), or the flesh of swine (pork); for that surely, is impure…”

Surah al-An’aam 145

The pig is haraam and najis (impure); it is haraam to eat its meat or fat, and it is not permissible to eat a little of it or part of it.

If some parts of its meat or fat is found in bread, food or medicine, it is haraam to consume it at all.

The scholars of the Standing Committee for Issuing Fatwas said:

If the Muslim is certain or thinks it most like that any pork, lard (pig fat), or ground up pig bones has gotten into his food, medicine, toothpaste and so on, then it is not permissible for him to eat it or drink it, or apply it to his skin. Whatever he is uncertain about, he should abstain from it, because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Leave that which makes you doubt for that which does not make you doubt.”


One of the things that distinguishes the Muslim from others is that he pays attention to the shar’i rulings that have to do with his life.

That includes his earnings, his food, his drink. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) stated the importance of halaal food to the Muslim in this world and the Hereafter.

He stated that eating haraam food is a cause of du’aa’s not being answered and with regard to the Hereafter, there is a stern warning to the one who nourishes his body with haraam things.


The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said:

“Every body that is nourished with haraam things, the Fire is more befitting for it.”

Narrated by al-Tabaraani; classed as saheeh by Shaykh al-Albaani in Saheeh al-Jaami’ (4519)

You should beware of eating that which is it not permissible for you to eat, and you should seek out halaal food, even if it is more expensive than other food, and even if obtaining it involves more effort.

Is Hi Chew gelatin halal

Is Hi Chew Gelatin Halal?

No, Hi Chew gelatin is not halal. The gelatin is made from pork. Gelatin which is derived from collagen which comes from pigs is haram, because it is as if the pig had been turned into salt.

The most correct view is that it is haram even if it has been changed, so long as it originally came from a pig, which is haraam.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Comments are closed.