Is Black Forest Gummy Bears Halal
Is Black Forest Gummy Bears Halal

Is Black Forest Gummy Bears Halal?

Is black Forest Gummy Bears halal? The Black Forest gummy bears have been a popular candy for many years, loved by people of all ages for their sweet and fruity flavor. 


However, for those following a halal diet, there is often confusion about whether or not these gummy bears are permissible to consume.

In this blog, we will examine the ingredients used in Black Forest gummy bears and determine if they are in line with halal dietary laws.

Is Black Forest Gummy Bears Halal?

No. Black Forest Gummy Bears is not considered halal. Gelatin is the main non-halal culprit in this product. Gelatin is a protein that is derived from the partial hydrolysis of collagen, which is extracted from the skin, connective tissues, and bones of animals such as pigs and cows. Based on their FAQs page, black Forest gummies used pork gelatin.

Ingredients Of Black Forest Gummies

Though Black Forest Gummies have different varieties, most of them will have similar ingredients. With that said, here’s a look at their base ingredients:


  • Corn syrup
  • Gelatin
  • Modified food starch (corn)
  • Citric acid
  • Apple juice from concentrate
  • Sodium citrate
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Coconut oil
  • Colors (black carrot juice, beta-carotene, spirulina extract, turmeric)
  • Carnauba wax
  • Adds a trivial amount of fat

Some organic ingredients in their flavors are:

  • Organic tapioca syrup
  • Organic tapioca starch
  • Organic sunflower oil
  • Organic cane sugar
Are Black Forest Gummy Bears Halal

Gelatin is present in all of the flavors. So, even though there are no other animal-based products in Black Forest Gummy Bears, they are simply not safe for Muslims to consume.

It is not permissible to consume foods, drinks and medicines that contain gelatin derived from the skin of pigs or other impure substances. 

If gelatin is taken from the meat of an animal that we are Islamicly allowed to eat and it is slaughtered according to Islamic rites, then it is permissible for us to eat it.

However, if it is taken from a dead animal or an animal that is not slaughtered according to Islamic rites, then it is considered as a portion of a dead animal, and thus, it is forbidden to eat it or to use it as an ingredient in any food or drink.


If you’re looking for a delicious and halal-friendly alternative to Black Forest Gummy Bears, there are many in the market that do not contain gelatin.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply