Is Orbit Gum Halal
Is Orbit Gum Halal

Is Orbit Gum Halal? Here’s All You Want To Know

Is orbit gum halal? Orbit gum is a popular chewing gum brand enjoyed by millions of people worldwide. However, for those following a halal diet, it’s important to know if the ingredients used in Orbit gum are permissible under Islamic law.


In this blog, we’ll take a closer look at the ingredients in Orbit gum and examine whether it is considered halal or not, based on the guidelines set forth by Islamic scholars.

Whether you’re a regular gum chewer or just curious, read on to find out if Orbit gum is a viable option for those following a halal lifestyle.

Is Orbit Gum Halal?

Yes, orbit gum is considered halal. According to the company’s website, Orbit gum is made with ingredients sourced from the highest quality, organic, and natural ingredients, which include: Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol, and Natural And Artificial Flavors. All the ingredients are considered halal friendly. There is no animal-based ingredient used in this gum.

Different Orbit Flavors

Orbit Gum has about 8 different flavors:


  • Peppermint
  • Spearmint
  • Freeze Mint
  • Wintermint
  • Bubblemint
  • Sweet Mint
  • Strawberry
  • Citrus
Are orbit gum halal

All of which contain similar ingredients. The ingredients in Orbit Gum are identical among all flavors. Here’s how the list of ingredients looks like:

  • Sorbitol
  • Gum Base
  • Glycerol
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate
  • Aspartame
  • Mannitol
  • Acesulfame K
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Xylitol
  • Colors (Blue 1 Lake, Beta-Carotene), and 
  • BHT.

Based on the ingredients, all flavours of Orbit Gums are Halaal suitable as they do not contain any non-haram ingredient.

Why Is Orbit Gum Halal?

Orbit gum uses all-natural and halal-friendly ingredients. That’s why it is considered halal chewing gum. As discussed earlier, there is no confusion among the Muslim scholars about these ingredients.

Sheikh Assim Al Hakeem said that by default, all foods and sweets are halal until proven otherwise. The scholars set a rule that says that in principle everything is permissible, and they based this rule on shar‘i evidence.

The Quran guidelines indicate that all food products are halal (allowed) except those explicitly mentioned as haram (not compatible with Islam law or prohibited).


So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.

It is important to always check the list of the ingredients on the product itself because from time to time the companies can change the ingredients that they have used in that specific batch.



Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply