Is Red 40 Halal
Is Red 40 Halal

Is Red 40 Halal? Know The Truth Behind This Food Coloring

Is Red 40 Halal? Red 40, also known as Allura Red, is a popular food coloring that is used in a wide range of products, including candy, soda, and cereal. 


However, for those who follow the Islamic dietary guidelines, the question of whether or not Red 40 is halal can be a concern. In this blog post, we will take a closer look at the ingredients and manufacturing process of Red 40 to determine its halal status.

Is Red 40 Halal?

The answer is yes, Red 40 is considered halal. It is a synthetic food coloring made from petroleum and is considered to be a safe food additive by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). It contains no pork, insects, or any other animal products that halal consumers try to avoid. 

It is important to note that while Red 40 may be considered halal, the overall product in which it is used may not be halal if it contains non-halal ingredients.

Therefore, it is always important to check the ingredient list and certifications of any product before consuming it.


What Is Red 40?

Red 40 is the most widely used commercial red food coloring. It’s used in the production of red Skittles, red M&M’s, and a variety of other artificially coloured products.

To determine whether a product contains red 40, simply turn it over and look at the bottom of the ingredients label. Since food dye is so concentrated, it’s usually one of the smallest ingredients.

Originally, red 40 was made from coal char. However, because the coal industry has largely been replaced, today’s red 40 is made from petroleum.

A slew of other chemicals are then added to manipulate the petroleum molecules and produce a highly concentrated red dye.

Is Red 40 Halal

How to Spot Red 40 in Food Products

Red 40 can be found in almost all red food products in the US. Some of the most common names for Red 40 used in ingredient lists are:


  • Allura Red
  • Allura Red AC
  • Red 40
  • Red Dye 40
  • Red #40
  • Red 40 Lake
  • E129
  • FD & C Red No. 40
  • FD and C Red No. 40
  • C. I. 16035
  • C.I. Food Red 17

The Most Common Foods That Use Red 40

Here are some of the most common foods on the market that contain red 40 food coloring, so you can avoid them (or at least consume them in moderation):

  • Strawberry, cherry, and raspberry-flavored candy.
  • Red-colored breakfast cereal.
  • Flavored dairy, such as ice cream, yogurt, and strawberry milk.
  • Red-colored chips (usually the spicy flavors).
  • Red-colored condiments like ketchup, hot sauce, chili sauce.
  • Cereals from Trix, Cap’n Crunch, Fruity Cheerios,
  • Pickles
  • Barbecue sauces
  • Cherry fillings
  • M&Ms
  • Gummy Bears
  • Skittles
  • Red and orange-colored fruit drinks or sports drinks.
  • Red, pink, orange shaded eye shadows
  • Suntans 
  • Colored body washes 
  • Red, pink, and orange shaded lipstick and lipliner 
  • Red, pink, and orange shaded blush

Of course, this is a blanket statement. Ultimately, the only way to know whether or not a food contains red 40 is to double-check the ingredients label.

In conclusion, Red 40 is considered halal as a food additive and is approved by several halal certifying organizations. However, it is important to check the ingredients and certifications of any product that contains Red 40 to ensure it is halal.