Is Reese's Peanut Butter Cups Halal
Is Reese's Peanut Butter Cups Halal

Is Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Halal? Plus Reese’s Pieces

Is reese’s peanut butter cups halal? Are you a fan of Reese’s peanut butter cups but have concerns about its halal status?


The popular treat has long been a staple in American households, but many muslim consumers are curious about its ingredients and whether or not it meets the dietary requirements set by Islamic law.

In this blog, we will explore the ingredients used in Reese’s peanut butter cups and provide a comprehensive answer to the question “Is Reese’s peanut butter halal?” So sit back, grab a cup of your favorite beverage, and read on to find out the truth about this beloved treat.

Is Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Halal?

Yes, Reese’s peanut butter cups are halal-friendly. All the ingredients used in Reese’s peanut butter cups are considered halal friendly. There is no animal-based ingredient used in this treat other than milk. Based on their tweet, their products are not only halal but halal-certified.

Reese’s claims that their products, including Reese’s Sticks, Reese’s Sticks Minis (Unwrapped), and Reese’s Pieces are certified halal.


Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Ingredients:

Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Milk Fat, Lactose, Lecithin, PGPR), Peanuts, Sugar, Dextrose, Salt, TBHQ, Citric Acid.

Are Reese’s Pieces Halal?

Yes, Reese’s pieces are considered halal-friendly. After contacting The Hershey Company (the manufacturer and owner of Reese’s Pieces chocolate) they confirmed that Reese’s Pieces chocolate cups is halal certified. In addition, the ingredient list of Reese’s Pieces contains no animal products other than milk.

Are Reese’s Pieces Halal
Are Reese’s Pieces Halal

Reese’s Pieces Ingredients

Here’s the ingredient list that we found on Hershey site:

  • Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Milk Fat, Lactose, Lecithin, PGPR)
  • Peanuts
  • Sugar
  • Dextrose (type of sugar sourced from corn or wheat)
  • Salt
  • TBHQ (tert-butylhydroquinone – a commonly used preservative in processed food)
  • Citric Acid

Based on the simple ingredient list above, nothing stands out to make Reese’s Pieces questionable. With that said, we can comfortably confirm that Reese’s Pieces chocolate is indeed halal suitable.

Sheikh Assim Al Hakeem said that by default, all foods and sweets are halal until proven otherwise.


The scholars set a rule that says that in principle everything is permissible, and they based this rule on shar‘i evidence.

The Quran guidelines indicate that all food products are halal (allowed) except those explicitly mentioned as haram (not compatible with Islam law or prohibited).

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.


It is important to always check the list of the ingredients on the product itself because from time to time the companies can change the ingredients that they have used in that specific batch.


Similar Posts


Leave a Reply