Is Ostrich Halal
Is Ostrich Halal

Is Ostrich Halal? Here’s What You Need To Know

Ostrich meat is a popular meat in many countries around the world, and is known for its lean and protein-rich nature. It has a taste and texture similar to beef, but is lower in fat and cholesterol. But, Is ostrich halal?


In this post, we will look at the Islamic perspective on whether ostrich meat is halal for Muslims to consume or not.

Is Ostrich Halal?

Yes, ostrich is halal with no stated prohibition provided it is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law. It is permissible to eat ostrich because there is nothing to indicate that it is haram. Ostrich meat is found to be good and it does not have fangs (non-predatory bird).

Allah says:

Say, “I do not find within that which was revealed to me [anything] forbidden to one who would eat it unless it be a dead animal or blood spilled out or the flesh of swine – for indeed, it is impure – or it be [that slaughtered in] disobedience, dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], then indeed, your Lord is Forgiving and Merciful.”

Surah An’am verse 145

Nothing is excluded from this ruling, except that which is reported as having been prohibited to be eaten.


Related: Is Duck Halal or Haram? Everything You Need To Know

Why Is Ostrich Halal?

Ostrich is halal because the basic principle with regard to food and drink is that it is permissible unless there is proof that it is haram.

An-Nawawi (may Allah have mercy on him) said:

“Our companions unanimously agreed that it is permissible to eat ostriches , chickens… ducks, sand grouse, sparrows, larks, francolin and pigeons…”

Sharh al-Muhadhdhab, 7/22

He also said:

“Whatever lives in the water and on land, including waterfowl such as ducks, geese and so on, is halal as stated above, but if any of these dies of natural causes (i.e., is not slaughtered in the proper manner) it is not halal, and there is no difference of scholarly opinion on this point. Rather it is essential that it be slaughtered properly.”

Sharh al-Muhadhdhab, 9/35

Is Ostrich Meat Halal?

Yes, ostrich meat is halal. It is permissible to eat the meat of ostrich, as Allah Says: Say, “Lawful for you are [all] good foods. [Surah Ma’idah: 4].


Allah further Says: …and makes lawful for them the good things. [Quran 7: 157]. So, the meat of an ostrich is good, and the companions may Allah be pleased with the considered the ostrich of the same value as a goat, so this is an evidence that its meat is lawful to eat.

Raw ostrich meat
Raw ostrich meat

Is Ostrich Egg Halal?

Yes, ostrich egg is halal and allowed because ostrich itself is allowed to slaughter and eat as Halal. As it is permissible to eat ostrich meat, it is also permissible to eat its egg.

Cases When Muslims Can Eat Ostrich Meat

On this basis, ostrich meat is permitted beyond any shadow of a doubt. The fuqaha have stated that ostrich meat is permissible under several subject headings, including:


Al-dhabh (Slaughtering Meat): when discussing that which makes the animal more at ease, they said:

It should be cut in the neck if it has a short neck, and at the point where the neck meets the chest if it has a long neck, such as a camel, ostrich or goose, because that makes it easier for the soul to depart.

The penalty of hunting by a muhrim (one who is in a state of ihram for Hajj or ‘umrah). Al-Shafi’i said: if the muhrim catches an ostrich, then a sacrifice must be offered for that. (al-Umm, 2/210)

The permissibility of different parts of it. Ibn Hazam said:

Whoever swears that he will not eat eggs does not break that vow unless he eats the egg of a chicken in particular; the vow is not broken by his eating the egg of an ostrich or any other bird, or fish eggs, because of that which we have mentioned.

This is the view of Abu Hanifah, al-Shafi’i and Abu Sulayman. (al-Muhalla, 6/327)

Note: Al-Fayumi said:

“The word ostrich (na’amah) applies to both male and female; the plural is na’am.” (al-Misbah al-Munir, p. 615)

And Allah knows best.

Taken from Islamqa.

In conclusion, ostrich is considered halal for Muslims to eat as long as it is slaughtered according to Islamic guidelines.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply