Is Ham Halal
Is Ham Halal

Is Ham Halal or Haram? What You Need To Know

Ham is a popular meat product that is made from the hind leg of a pig. In many cultures, it is a staple food that is enjoyed in a variety of dishes. However, for those who follow Islamic dietary laws, the question is ‘is ham halal?’.


Whether you’re a Muslim looking for halal meat options, or simply curious about the debate, read on to learn more about the status of ham in Islam.

Is Ham Halal?

No, ham is not halal? According to Islamic law, pork is considered haram, or forbidden. This means that any product made from pork, such as ham, is also considered haram. It is not permissible for a Muslim to consume ham under any circumstances.

Why Is Ham Haram?

Pork is haram and it is not permissible to eat it, whether it is the meat, fat or any other part, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“Forbidden to you (for food) are: Al-Maitah (the dead animals — cattle — beast not slaughtered), blood, the flesh of swine

Surah al-Maa’idah 5:3

The Muslims are agreed that all parts of the pig are haram. Allah has forbidden it because of the harmful things it contains and because it is impure, as Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):


“Say (O Muhammad): ‘I find not in that which has been revealed to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be Maitah (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like), or the flesh of swine (pork); for that surely, is impure…”

Surah al-An’aam 6:145

Its meat is a disease, and the more people advance in knowledge, the more new diseases they discover, because of pork consumption.

Muslims should keep away from places where this filthy meat is eaten so that they will not eat anything of it without realizing.

With regard to washing plates, it is sufficient to wash them well with whatever will get rid of the filth of this meat.

Because the correct view is that the impurity caused by pork is like any other impurity; there is no need to wash it seven times, one of which should be with earth. See al-Sharh al-Mumti’ by Ibn ‘Uthaymeen, 1/356.

The pig is haraam and najis (impure); it is haraam to eat its meat or fat, and it is not permissible to eat a little of it or part of it. If some parts of its meat or fat is found in bread, food or medicine, it is haraam to consume it at all.


Is ham haram

The scholars of the Standing Committee for Issuing Fatwas said:

If the Muslim is certain or thinks it most like that any pork, lard (pig fat), or ground up pig bones has gotten into his food, medicine, toothpaste and so on, then it is not permissible for him to eat it or drink it, or apply it to his skin.

Whatever he is uncertain about, he should abstain from it, because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Leave that which makes you doubt for that which does not make you doubt.” End quote.



Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply