Are Twizzlers Halal
Are Twizzlers Halal

Are Twizzlers Halal In USA And Canada? (Quick Guide)

Twizzlers are a popular brand of chewy, twisted licorice candy that is enjoyed by people all over the world. There has been some debate among Muslims about whether or not Twizzlers are halal, or permissible to consume according to Islamic law.


If you’re a Muslim looking for a tasty snack that adheres to your dietary restrictions, you may be wondering: are Twizzlers halal?.

In this post, we will explore the ingredients in Twizzlers and find out if they are halal or not.

Are Twizzlers Halal?

Yes, Twizzlers are halal. They do not contain animal ingredients that are commonly found in similar candies (i.e: gelatin). Every Twizzlers flavour is suitable for vegans, whether it’s the popular strawberry flavour or the caramel apple filled twists. All ingredients in Twizzlers are plant based and have no animal sources.

Why All Twizzlers Are Most Likely Halal?

Twizzlers are halal friendly because they don’t contain animal ingredients, which is a notion that is congruent with the definition of halal. 


No variety of Twizzlers contains animal products like meat, or bee products common in many confections.

And while Twizzlers are red, their color does not come from carmine; in this case, the red color is red dye #40, which made without insects.

Twizzlers Ingredients Halal

According to the manufacturer, Twizzlers are made with a few simple ingredients. If you are wondering what’s in Twizzlers here’s the full list.

  • corn syrup,
  • enriched wheat flour,
  • sugar,
  • cornstarch
  • palm oil,
  • salt,
  • artificial flavor,
  • glycerin,
  • citric acid,
  • potassium sorbate,
  • Red 40,
  • Mineral oil
  • soy lecithin

As you’re able to notice, there are no animal ingredients and none of these ingredients are haram, or prohibited by Islamic law.

When looking at the full list of Twizzlers ingredients, there is nothing that raises concerns. In fact, it proves that Twizzlers are naturally vegetarian and halal-friendly.


Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Uthaymeen said: the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to show that they are forbidden, because Allah says:

هُوَ ٱلَّذِى خَلَقَ لَكُم مَّا فِى ٱلۡأَرۡضِ جَمِيعًا ثُمَّ ٱسۡتَوَىٰٓ إِلَى ٱلسَّمَآءِ فَسَوَّىٰهُنَّ سَبۡعَ سَمَٰوَٰتٍۚ وَهُوَ بِكُلِّ شَىۡءٍ عَلِيمٌ

Interpretation Of The Meaning


“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything

Surah al-Baqarah 29

And because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “What I keep quiet about is permissible”.

If we do not know that this thing is haram, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haram, then it is halal.

This is the basic principle concerning food, drink, clothing and customs.

Muslims can eat any type of non-meat food that is not harmful. So any vegetables, sweets, candies, and cakes that do not have animal derivatives in them are allowed to eat.

As muslims, the only thing that we care about is the meat, was it halal meat? Meaning that the animal must be halal and has to be slaughtered according to Islamic law.

In addition, the person slaughtering has to be either a muslim, a jew or a christian.

Is Twizzlers Halal

Are Strawberry Twizzlers Halal?

Yes! The original flavor is completely halal-friendly. Strawberry Twizzlers don’t contain any obvious non-halal ingredients.

Is Twizzlers Halal In USA?

Yes, they are halal because the ingredients used to made Twizzlers are plant based and have no animal sources.

Are Twizzlers Halal In Canada?

Yes, they are halal because the ingredients used to made Twizzlers are plant based and have no animal sources.

Are Twizzlers Haram?

No, There are no ingredients in Twizzlers that are considered haram, or forbidden, in Islam. Therefore, it is generally considered permissible for Muslims to eat Twizzlers.

Halal Twizzlers Flavors

The following Twizzlers’ products are explicitly listed as halal. They include more traditional flavors as well as Twizzler’s signature plays on licorice shape and texture. They don’t contain any non-vegan or non-halal ingredients and are likely halal.

  • Strawberry
  • Pull-n-Peel Cherry
  • Bites Cherry
  • Cherry
  • Nibs Cherry
  • Licorice
  • Chocolate
  • Mystery Flavor
  • Orange Cream Pop
  • Rainbow

In conclusion, Twizzlers are generally considered to be halal and are a safe snack choice for Muslims. So, you can enjoy Twizzlers without any hesitation.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply