Advertisements

Are Mike and Ikes Halal
Are Mike and Ikes Halal

Are Mike and Ikes Halal? The Quick Answer

Are Mike and Ikes halal? This is a common question asked by those following a halal diet, as they want to make sure that the food and drinks they consume comply with Islamic dietary laws.

Advertisements

In this blog post, we will explore the ingredients used in Mike and Ike candies and whether they are considered halal or not.

Are Mike and Ikes Halal?

Yes, Mike and Ike candies are considered halal-friendly. All the ingredients used in making the candies are halal. The controversy comes from the fact that they’re made with confectioner’s glaze which contains shellac–the resin secreted by a female lac bug.

It should be noted that the basic principle with regard to foods and drinks is that they are permissible.

Mike And Ikes Ingredients

Mike and Ike are popular candies that many people enjoy eating. Here’s the list of ingredients it is made from:

Advertisements

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Modified food starch
  • Citric acid
  • Malic acid
  • fumaric acid
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Dextrin
  • Confectioner’s glaze
  • Carnauba wax
  • Medium-chain triglycerides (MCTs)
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 5 and 6
  • Blue 1

Many people are worried about whether or not these ingredients are halal. Well Confectioners glaze is the only questionable ingredient in Mike and Ikes.

It is haram to eat some insects just as it is haram to eat maytah (meat that was not slaughtered properly) or drink alcohol.

But if they have been turned into another substance by means of some treatment, then there is nothing wrong with eating that substance.

It is not permissible to consume insects, let alone to buy them. But if a substance undergoes a vigorous process of changing its physical and chemical characteristics, such as in the case of gelatin or glycerin,

then it becomes a new substance, and this new substance is not related to the old one. Hence, it becomes halal.

Advertisements

Is Mike and Ikes Halal

Why Is Mike And Ikes Halal?

According to Sheikh Assim Al Hakeem, by default, all sweets are halal until proven otherwise.

The scholars set a rule that says that in principle everything is permissible, and they based this rule on shar‘i evidence.

The Quran guidelines indicate that all food products are halal (allowed) except those explicitly mentioned as haram (not compatible with Islam law or prohibited).

Advertisements

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.

Note that Flavors and ingredients can change at anytime. Always check the ingredients to be sure if a product is halal. If there are questionable ingredients, you can contact the company.

Different countries may also have different flavors. Flavors could also be discontinued at any time and new flavors could be made.

Advertisements

Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply