Is Snickers Halal
Is Snickers Halal

Is Snickers Halal? Everything You Need To Know

Snickers, the popular chocolate bar, is loved by many people all over the world. With its delicious combination of chocolate, caramel, peanuts, and nougat, it’s no wonder why. 


But, for those following a halal diet, the question remains: is Snickers halal? In this blog, we will examine the ingredients of Snickers and explore whether or not this classic treat is suitable for those following a halal lifestyle.

Is Snickers Halal?

Yes, snickers is generally considered halal. Snickers do not contain gelatin nor any other pork product, which is great news for those who follow a halal diet. They contain dairy, egg whites, palm oil, and refined white sugar – all of which are halal-friendly.

Why Are Snickers Halal?

Snickers are halal for a LOT of reasons. In fact, there is non-halal ingredients used in Snickers! The original Snicker bars contain:

  • Milk chocolate
  • Sugar
  • Peanuts
  • Corn syrup
  • Palm oil
  • Skim milk
  • Lactose
  • Salt
  • Egg whites
  • Artificial flavor

Here’s a brief explanation of each ingredient used in Snickers, so you can see for yourself! 


  • Milk Chocolate: Snickers and most other candy bars are made with milk chocolate. It is well-known for its smooth texture, sweet yet mild flavour, and ease of digestion when compared to dark chocolate.
  • Peanuts: Peanuts are the second most important ingredient in Snickers. In fact, these nuts are one of the halal ingredients in the sweets! Peanuts are both healthy and delicious on their own.
  • Corn Syrup: Another common ingredient found in most candy bars is corn syrup. This thick, viscous plant-based sweetener has a concentrated flavour and a thick, viscous consistency, making it ideal for making thick, chewy sweets.
  • Corn syrup is completely halal and made from corn, so you don’t have to be concerned about this additive.
  • Sugar: Snickers are made with refined white sugar, which is the most commonly found form of sugar in the world.
  • Palm Oil: Palm oil is a natural plant-based oil, the palm oil industry is incredibly destructive to the environment.
  • Skim Milk: Snickers uses even more milk to make the caramel filling that coats the peanuts, in addition to the milk in the milk chocolate.
  • Lactose: Lactose is simply milk sugar. This sugar is derived from milk and is commonly found in chocolate bars and other sweet treats.
  • Salt: To stabilise the candy bar and balance out the sweet flavours of the chocolate and sugar, a pinch of salt is added to the mixture.
  • Egg Whites: Egg whites are most likely added to help make the caramel syrup in Snickers.
  • Artificial Flavor: Finally, Snickers (like most candy) is artificially flavoured. Because these artificial flavours are derived from labs, they are halal.
Are Snickers Halal

Based on the ingredients we listed above, Snickers do not contain ingredients such as gelatin, whey, which are controversial or questionable ingredients.

Sheikh Assim Al Hakeem said that by default, all sweets are halal until proven otherwise. The scholars set a rule that says that in principle everything is permissible, and they based this rule on shar‘i evidence.

The Quran guidelines indicate that all food products are halal (allowed) except those explicitly mentioned as haram (not compatible with Islam law or prohibited).

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.

It is important to always check the list of the ingredients on the product itself because from time to time the companies can change the ingredients that they have used in that specific batch.