Is rabbit halal? Rabbits have long been a popular choice for pet owners and farmers alike, but for those who follow a halal diet, the question of whether or not rabbits are considered halal can be a bit confusing.
In this blog post, we will explore the various factors that determine whether or not rabbits are considered halal.
Is Rabbit Halal?
Yes, rabbit is halal and permissible to eat rabbits according to all four schools of thought Rabbit is Halal and no one from Muslim scholars opposed this ruling. However, as with any meat, rabbit meat must be slaughtered in accordance to Islamic law to be considered halal.
Why is Rabbit Meat Halal?
Basically all animals are Halal except those that are made unlawful in Shari’a. Allah Says (interpretation of meaning):
Say (O Muhammad SAW): “I find not in that which has been inspired to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be Maytatah (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like), or the flesh of swine (pork, etc.) for that surely is impure,….Surah Al An’am verse 145
The Hadith establishes a rule concerning the birds and animals that are Haram, the Hadith reads:
“Eating of all fanged beasts of prey, and all the birds having talons is forbidden”.Reported by Muslim
Therefore, eating a rabbit is permissible, and it is proved in Sahihain that “The Prophet (Sallallahu Alaihi wa Sallam) and his companions ate its meat”
There are many narrations that suggest the Prophet (peace be upon him) approved its consumption. The famous companion Anas (may Allah be pleased with him) narrates,
“We chased a rabbit whilst we were at Marr al-Zahran and the people ran after it but were exhausted. I caught it, and brought it to Abu Talhah who slaughtered it and sent both its hips, or he said, both its thighs to the Prophet (peace be upon him) who accepted it”.Sahih al-Bukhari 5535
Rabbit meat is Halal and no one from Muslim scholars opposed this ruling. However, rabbit meat must be slaughtered in accordance to Islamic law to be considered halal.
- See also: Is Zebra Halal?
Note that when purchasing rabbit meat, it is important to check that the meat has been slaughtered in accordance with Islamic guidelines and to be aware of any other factors that might make the meat haram (forbidden), such as the use of haram chemicals or additives.
In conclusion, rabbit is considered halal for Muslims to eat, provided it is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic guidelines. As always, it is important to be mindful of the source and preparation of the meat to ensure it is permissible to consume.