Is Nando's in Chicago Halal
Is Nando's in Chicago Halal

Is Nando’s in Chicago Halal: US And UK

Nandos is everyone’s favourite chicken place in the Chicago, but is Nando’s in Chicago halal? If you are curious about the Halal status of the famous chicken restaurant, Nando’s, here is an explanation of the halal status of Nando’s chicken restaurant in UK, USA and Canada.


Nando’s are famous for their fried chicken with lemon and herbs, served with varying levels of spiciness from their unique signature Peri – Peri sauce.

Is Nando’s in Chicago Halal?

Unfortunately, none of the Nando’s restaurants in the US serve halal chicken. This fact is adopted from Nando’s Periperi website. According to Nando’s website, their halal-only chicken restaurants “are signposted both in the restaurant and online”.

It adds: “A small proportion of chicken sold in our other restaurants is also halal and is not currently labelled when served.”

Is Nando’s Peri-peri Sauce Halal?

Yes, Nando’s Peri-peri sauce is Halal. They are Gluten-free, no artificial colours, preservatives or flavours. They are suitable for vegetarians. These are among the things that make them Halal. Their source is a dollop of Peri-Peri (African Bird’s Eye Chilli), lemon, garlic and spices.


Check Is Fadi’s Halal?

Is Nando’s Halal In Ontario?

Not all Nando’s outlets offer halal chicken, but their are outlets that have been known to do so. Please check with the individual outlet first. From the management: ‘All our restaurants in Ontario serve halal chicken.’

Is Nando’s Halal In UK?

According to Nando’s UK, their Halal chickens are supplied to them by Freemans of Newent. They are authorised by the Islamic institute of Jurisprudence and are one of the UK’s leading suppliers of Halal chicken.

Nandos have 402 restaurants, of which 73 serve only Halal chicken. A small proportion of chicken sold in other restaurants may also be Halal.

This may happen on rare occasions if there are, for example, issues with supply. But all stores are clearly sign posted. And all chickens are packaged, labelled and distributed to their intended restaurant. Nandos make it clear whether the chicken is halal:


  • Sign on the entrance of the restaurant.
  • On the relevant restaurant page on the website.
  • Certificate from the supplier (Freemans), certifying the chickens in that restaurant are supplied by them.
  • Please ask a member of staff at Nando’s if you are unsure.

If there are points which bring about alot of doubt due to their halal status one must abstain from such restaurants. Especially when our lives don’t depend on these restaurants.

A Muslim leaves that which is doubtful and holds on to the doubtless. One must be very careful of that which he consumes for the acceptance of his du’aas rely upon the things that he consumes.

We should try and stay away from all doubtful and Haraam things in any quantity, small or big.


The Prophets were ordered by Allah in the Qur’an to consume only Halaal. If we consume Haraam or doubtful things then this has a big effect on our actions and our prayers are not answered.

May Allah open our hearts, save us from Haraam and give us the Tawfeeq to accept the Haqq (truth). Ameen

What Is Consider Halal In Islam?

According to the Muslims in Dietetics and Nutrition, a member group of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Halal food can never contain pork or pork products (including gelatin and shortenings) or alcohol.

Halal animals must be slaughtered by hand, not by machine, by a Muslim who says Bismillah. The animal’s blood must drain completely after it is killed because Muslims who eat Halal do not consume fresh blood of animals.

If those slaughtering the meat are from the People of the Book, namely Jews and Christians, it is permissible to eat it, and it is not appropriate to ask as to how it was slaughtered or whether they mentioned Allah’s name over it or not.

That is because the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) ate the lamb given to him by a Jewish woman in Khaybar, and he ate the meal to which a Jewish man invited him, and it contained rendered fat, but the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) did not ask how they had slaughtered it or whether they had mentioned Allah’s name over it.

In Saheeh al-Bukhari it is narrated that some people said to the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him): Some people bring us meat, and we do not know whether the name of Allah was mentioned over it or not. He said:

“Say Bismillah over it yourselves and eat it.”

Aa’ishah (may Allah be pleased with her), who narrated the hadith, said: They had only recently become Muslim.

These hadiths indicate that it is not appropriate to ask about how the slaughtering was carried out if the person who carried it out is qualified to do so.

This highlights the wisdom of Islamic teachings and how Islam makes things easy for people, because requiring people to find out whether conditions are met even if the person who performed the action is qualified would cause a great deal of difficulty and hardship, and Islam would become a religion of hardship and difficulty.

However, if the meat came from a foreign country where the slaughterers are people whose meat is not permissible to eat, such as Zoroastrians and idol worshippers, and those who do not follow any religion, then it is not permissible to eat it, because Allah, may He be exalted, has not permitted the meat of any non-Muslims except those who were given the Book, namely the Jews and Christians.

If we are uncertain as to whether the slaughterman was one whose meat is permissible or one whose meat is not permissible, then that is not a problem [i.e., if most of the people in that country are those whose meat is permissible].


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply