Is Fruit By The Foot Halal
Is Fruit By The Foot Halal

Is Fruit By The Foot Halal? The Quick Answer

Is Fruit By The Foot halal? Are you a fan of Fruit by the Foot, the popular fruit snack that comes in a variety of flavors? If you’re a Muslim, you may be wondering if this popular snack is halal. 


In this blog post, we’ll take a look at the ingredients of Fruit by the Foot to determine whether or not it is halal.

Is Fruit By The Foot Halal?

Yes, Fruit by the Foot is halal-friendly as it doesn’t have ingredients of animal origin. It’s not made with any animal-derived ingredients, such as gelatin, stearic acid, or confectioner’s glaze. The candy comes in a variety of flavors and all are some combination of sweeteners, fruit extracts, plant-based gums, preservatives, and halal-friendly food dyes.

What Are Fruit by the Foot Really Made Of?

The ingredients in Fruit by the Foot include:

  • Sugar
  • Maltodextrin
  • Corn syrup
  • Pear puree concentrate
  • Palm oil
  • Contains 2% less or less of: carrageenan
  • Citric acid
  • Monoglycerides
  • Sodium citrate
  • Acetylated monoglycerides
  • Malic acid
  • Xanthan gum
  • Vitamin C (ascorbic acid)
  • Locust bean gum
  • Potassium citrate
  • Natural flavor
  • Color (red 40, blue 1, yellow 5).

None of the ingredients used in Fruit by the Foot are haram, or forbidden, under Islamic law.


The official Betty Crocker website lists four different flavors: 

  • Strawberry
  • Variety Pack
  • Flavor Mixers and 
  • Berry Tie-Dye

However, the ingredients are almost identical in the different flavors listed. It should be noted that key differences in the ingredients of the different flavors of Fruit by the Foot are mainly the food coloring agents used.

When looking at the full list of Fruit by the Foot ingredients, there is nothing that raises concerns.

Fruit By The Foot Halal

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymin said: The basic principle concerning all kinds of food, drink and clothing is that they are permissible until and unless proof is established that they are haram. 

The scholars set a rule that says that in principle everything is permissible, and they based this rule on shar‘i evidence.


The Quran guidelines indicate that all food products are halal (allowed) except those explicitly mentioned as haram (not compatible with Islam law or prohibited).

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.

Note that Flavors and ingredients can change at anytime. Always check the ingredients to be sure if a product is halal.


If there are questionable ingredients, you can contact the company. Different countries may also have different flavors. Flavors could also be discontinued at any time and new flavors could be made.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply