Is bovine gelatin halal
Is bovine gelatin halal

Is Bovine Gelatin Halal? What You Need To Know

Is bovine gelatin halal? Are you wondering if bovine gelatin is halal? If you follow a halal diet or are interested in learning more about halal-friendly food options, you might have questions about the ingredients in your food and whether they are permitted under Islamic law.


Bovine gelatin, which is derived from cows, is a common ingredient in a variety of products, including gummy candies, marshmallows, and gel capsules.

Is Bovine Gelatin Halal?

Yes, bovine gelatin is considered halal as long as it is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic guidelines. This type of gelatin is permissible, and there is nothing wrong with using it or consuming it in food or medicine. However, if the cow was not slaughtered according to the rules of Shariah then the gelatin will be haram.

As for gelatin extracted from animals that have not been slaughtered according to Shariah, Sheikh Abdus-Sattar F. Saeed, Professor of the Exegesis of the Qur’an at Al-Azhar University, states that:

“If the animal is slaughtered by one of the People of the Scripture, or if the butcher is unknown, then the meat is Halal and the gelatin is Halal too. However, if the animal is slaughtered by means of electric shock, suffocation, and other unlawful ways, then the meat is Haram and gelatin is Haram too, because it is a product of that unlawful animal”.


You may also like: Are Enzymes Halal? Things Know About Enzymes In Bread and Cheese stated that if a halal animal is slaughtered in conformity with Shari’ah, the gelatine derived from its skin will be permissible.

However, if the halal animal is not slaughtered according to Shari’ah, then only the gelatine derived from the bones will be permissible.

In some non-muslim countries, bovine gelatine is not permissible due to the following reasons:

  • The cattle are not slaughtered Islamically.
  • The gelatine is made from the skin, and not the bones.

Thus, the bovine gelatine of these countries is not permissible.


However, there are other countries such as Islamic countries, where it is ensured that the cattle are slaughtered Islamically. Thus the bovine gelatine from those countries will be halal.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Comments are closed.