Is Subway Halal
Is Subway Halal

Is Subway Halal? All You Need to Know

Subway is a popular fast-food chain that serves sandwiches and salads. For Muslims who follow the halal dietary guidelines, the question remains – is Subway halal?


In this blog, we will explore the answer to this question and provide you with all the information you need to make an informed decision about consuming Subway’s food.

Is Subway Halal in USA?

No, Subway is not halal certified in US. According to Subway, there are no halal certified Subways in America, but there are a few in the UK and Ireland. As of now, no US Subway currently officially offers halal meat products or halal menu options.

According to their website, Subway has no plans to change this and offer halal meat products or open any halal-serving restaurants within the US.

Can Muslims Eat From Subway?

First of all, Muslims can eat any type of veg food or any type of non-meat food that is not harmful.


Muslims can eat vegetables, sweets, pudding, cakes that do not have animal derivatives in them. You’re allowed to eat whether they were prepared by Hindus, Buddhists, Christians, or Muslims.

It doesn’t matter whether it was cooked by atheists or people doing it for their own gods and idols, then bringing it to you. There’s no problem. 

The food itself is halal. As Muslims, the only thing that we care about is the meat. Was it halal meat, meaning that the animal is permitted for us to eat the meat and flesh of that animal?

Secondly, it has to be slaughtered, and the person slaughtering has to be either a Muslim, a Jew, or a Christian. 

These are the only three people or three denominations that we are allowed to eat from their slaughtering if they slaughter halal meat such as cows, sheep, camels, birds in general. So, their slaughtering is permissible.


Fish is halaal in all circumstances, because its being halaal does not depend on how it is slaughtered or whether the name of Allaah is mentioned over it.

The tuna at Subway is questionable. Subway has even faced lawsuits over its claims that their tuna is 100% tuna because some testing has shown that it may contain other meats.

According to IslamQA, if restaurants are in a country where the slaughter of meat is taken care of by Muslims or People of the Book (i.e., Jews and Christians), or the restaurant owners take care of the slaughter themselves and they are Muslims or people of the Book,


then it is permissible to eat there, even if we do not know whether they mentioned the name of Allaah over the slaughter or not, because the basic principle is that their meat is allowed.

Al-Bukhaari (2057) narrated from ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) that some people said,

“O Messenger of Allaah, some people bring meat to us and we do not know whether they mentioned the name of Allaah over it or not.” The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Say the name of Allaah over it and eat it.”

Al-Bukhaari (2057)

But if the slaughter of meat is taken care of by people other than Muslims or people of the Book, such as atheists and Hindus, then it is not permissible to eat it.

It should be noted that meat slaughtered by a Muslim or a Jew or Christian is permissible if it was slaughtered in the manner prescribed in sharee’ah or if we do not know how it was slaughtered.

But if we know that it was slaughtered in a way other than that prescribed in sharee’ah, such as by strangling, electric shock, etc, then it is maytah or dead meat and it is haraam to eat it regardless of whether the one who killed it was a Muslim or a kaafir, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“Forbidden to you (for food) are: Al‑Maitah (the dead animals — cattle — beast not slaughtered), blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which Allaah’s Name has not been mentioned while slaughtering (that which has been slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allaah, or has been slaughtered for idols) and that which has been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by the goring of horns — and that which has been (partly) eaten by a wild animal — unless you are able to slaughter it (before its death)”

Surah al-Maa’idah 5:3

Shaykh Ibn Baaz in Fataawa Islamiyyah, 3/414

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen said:

One of the following three scenarios must apply to this meat:

1. We know that it has been slaughtered in the proper manner. This meat is halaal.

2. We know that it has not been slaughtered in the proper manner. This meat is haraam.

3. We are not sure; we do not know whether it has been slaughtered in the proper manner or not. 

The ruling in this case is that the meat is halaal, and we do not have to ask about how it was killed, or whether the name of Allaah was mentioned over it or not.

Rather it seems from the Sunnah that it is better not to ask or try to find out.

Hence when they said to the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), “we do not know whether they mentioned the name of Allaah over it or not,” he did not say to them, Ask them whether they mentioned the name of Allaah over them or not, rather he said: 

“Say the name of Allaah over it yourselves, and eat it.” 

This tasmiyah or saying of the name of Allaah which the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) told them to do is not the tasmiyah of slaughter, because the slaughter is over and done with.

Rather it is the tasmiyah of eating, because what is prescribed is for the person who is eating to say the name of Allaah when he eats.

The correct view regarding saying the name of Allaah when eating is that it is obligatory, because the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) enjoined it, and because if a person does not say the name of Allaah, the Shaytaan shares his food and drink.

If a person wants to be cautious and forego eating this meat, there is nothing wrong with that, but there is also nothing wrong with eating it.

Taken From Fataawa Islamiyyah, 3/415

There’s a high chance of cross-contamination at Subway, the question is ‘Is it halal to eat at a restaurant that has high chance of cross-contamination?’

According to fatwa from, If you know that the meat or any other food that is originally halal for Muslims is cooked with fats or oils extracted from pigs, then it is haram (prohibited) to eat this food. 

Similarly, if the food is cooked where pork was cooked, e.g. in the same pot or pan, it becomes haram to eat it, because the impurity and defilement of the pork will then be transferred to the food.

So, it is better for you to eat other kinds of food that are far from being cooked this way, such as roasted fish, vegetables or the like, if you have to go to these restaurants.

As a Muslim, you must strive to avoid what is obviously haraam, and be cautious of doubtful things, and be keen to keep your religious commitment safe and to protect your body from haraam foods.

There are many other restaurants that are owned by Muslims and provide halal food and you should go to such restaurants instead.

Subway halal

Is Subway Halal In UK?

Yes, about 10% of Subway chains in the UK exclusively use halal meat. In fact a total of 202 out of 2000 stores in the UK serve halal meat. 

All halal Subway stores have numerous signs stating that they serve halal food. In these stores, pork is substituted with Turkey meat.

Is Subway Halal

Is Subway Halal in Muslim Countries?

Yes, all Subway branches in Muslim countries including Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, and Turkey are halal-certified.

Is Subway Bread Halal?

Yes, Subway Bread is considered halal. There are vegan option available across all locations such as Italian (white), though the chain carries other plant-based bread options that vary by region.

These include Hearty Multigrain and Sourdough. Both the tomato basil and spinach wraps are animal-free as well.

Subway’s Vegetarian and Vegan Options

If you’re looking for vegetarian or vegan options at Subway, you’re in luck. Subway offers a variety of vegetarian and vegan options, including:

Vegan Breads at Subway

  • Artisan Flatbread
  • Hearty Multigrain
  • Italian (white)
  • Plain Wrap
  • Sourdough
  • Spinach Wrap
  • Tomato Basil Wrap


  • Salad
  • Veggie Delite


  • BBQ
  • Buffalo (has butter flavor, but not actual butter)
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Oil Blend
  • Spicy Brown Mustard


  • Black Pepper
  • Oregano
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Sub Spice


  • Lay’s Chips (Classic, Baked Plain, Barbeque, Salt & Vinegar, Lightly Salted, Kettle Original, Kettle
  • Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt, Limon)
  • Sun Chips (Original only)

Note that there’s a high chance of cross-contamination at Subway, so if you decide to eat there, ask the workers to change their gloves.

Subway veg


Subway offers halal certified meat in some of its locations. If you’re looking for halal options at Subway, it’s important to check with your local Subway before ordering.

Subway also offers a variety of vegetarian and vegan options, including halal bread and halal sauces.

As always, it’s important to be informed about what you’re eating and to ask questions if you’re unsure about the halal status of a particular thing.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply