Are Jolly Ranchers Halal
Are Jolly Ranchers Halal

Are Jolly Ranchers Halal? EVERYTHING You Need to Know

Jolly Ranchers are a popular type of hard candy that are known for their bright colors and fruit flavors. They have been enjoyed by people all over the world for many years. But if you follow a halal diet, you may be wondering whether Jolly Ranchers are a suitable option for you.


One question that many people have about Jolly Ranchers is ‘Are Jolly Ranchers Halal‘? We will look at the Islamic perspective on Jolly Ranchers and discuss whether or not it is halal or haram according to Islamic law.

Are Jolly Ranchers Halal?

Yes, the majority of Jolly Rancher candy is halal with the exclusion of some products that contain animal-based ingredients. Most jolly ranchers didn’t mention gelatin in their ingredients. Also, some (not all) are free of animal parts and contain no alcohol.

The halal status of jolly ranchers depends on the specific ingredients used in the Jolly Ranchers that you are considering. Some Jolly Ranchers may be halal, while others may not be.

If we talk about Jolly Ranchers sweets, there are so many that come to mind. There’s Jolly Rancher hard candy, lollipops, jelly beans, and Jolly Rancher bites, chews, and gummies.


In order to determine if jolly ranchers are halal, it is important to consider the ingredients that are used to make them.

According to the website of the company that makes Jolly Ranchers, the ingredients in the candies include

  • sugar,
  • corn syrup,
  • malic acid,
  • contains 2% or less of: sodium lactate,
  • natural and artificial flavor,
  • artificial color (red 40, yellow 4, blue 1, yellow 6),
  • sulfur dioxide, to maintain freshness,
  • soy lecithin,
  • BHT, to maintain freshness.

These ingredients are generally considered halal, as they do not contain any animal products or alcohol.

There is no evidence to suggest that any of these ingredients are not halal. In fact, all of these ingredients are commonly used in a variety of food products and are not considered haram (forbidden) according to Islamic law.

Therefore, it is safe to say that most jolly ranchers are halal.


Is Sour Patch Halal Or Haram?

Why Are Jolly Ranchers Halal?

When looking at the full list of jolly ranchers ingredients, there is nothing that raises concerns. In fact, it proves that jolly ranchers are naturally vegetarian and halal-friendly.

Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Uthaymeen said: the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to show that they are forbidden, because Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):


“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything”

Surah al-Baqarah 29

And because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “What I keep quiet about is permissible”.

If we do not know that this thing is haram, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haram, then it is halal.

This is the basic principle concerning food, drink, clothing and customs.

Are Jolly Ranchers Halal

Why Some Jolly Rancher Candies Are Not Halal? 

One of the main requirements for food to be considered halal is that it must not contain any ingredients that are prohibited by Islamic law. These prohibited ingredients include pork and its by-products, alcohol, and certain types of carnivorous animals.

Some Jolly Ranchers contain ingredients that are not considered halal, while others do not.

For example, some flavors of Jolly Ranchers contain gelatin, which is a gelling agent made from animal collagen. Gelatin is not considered halal by all Muslims, as it is derived from pork products in many cases. 

However, some Muslims do consider gelatin to be halal if it is derived from halal sources, such as beef or fish.

Another product of small animals, confectioner’s glaze comes from the resin excreted by the lac insect. 

The resin is then scraped off the trees where the insects reside and combined with alcohol to create an edible version of shellac. This natural waxy substance gives foods a glossy top coat.

In order to determine whether a specific type of Jolly Rancher is halal, it is important to carefully read the ingredient list on the packaging.

If any of the ingredients are not considered halal, then the candy would not be considered halal.

Read also: Is Chicken Halal?

Are Jolly Ranchers Hard Candy Halal?

Yes, classic Jolly Rancher Hard Candies with their flavorful punch are halal. You will find the following ingredients in Jolly Rancher Hard Candies which are all halal products:

  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural Flavor
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Artificial Color (Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6)
  • Mineral Oil
  • Lecithin
Are Jolly Ranchers Hard Candy Halal

Are Blue Jolly Ranchers Halal?

Yes, blue jolly ranchers are halal and safe to consume.

Are Jolly Rancher Gummies Halal?

To the surprise of many Jolly Ranchers Gummies are halal-friendly. Many gummy candies contain gelatin, which is often sourced from animals making gummy candy often off-limits for halal eaters.

Luckily, Jolly Rancher Gummies do not contain gelatin. Since Jolly Rancher Gummies do not contain gelatin they are halal and safe to enjoy.

It’s important to note here that most other Jolly Rancher gummies flavors are non-halal. Only Original and Sour gummies are considered halal.

Are Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans Halal?

Yes, Jolly Rancher jelly doesn’t use gelatin in their jelly beans making them halal. Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans do not contain any animal products making them halal and safe for to enjoy.

Are Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans Halal?

Are Jolly Rancher Bites Halal?

No, Jolly Rancher Bites are not halal. Jolly Rancher Bites are the perfect example of why you need to look closely at the ingredients listed in each individual product.

Jolly Rancher Bites contain gelatin which is not a halal-friendly ingredient. It’s interesting to discover that Jolly Rancher Bites contain pectin and gelatin.

They are not halal due to containing gelatin which is an animal-sourced ingredient.

Are Jolly Rancher Bites Halal?

Are Jolly Rancher Chews Halal?

Unfortunately, Jolly Rancher Chews are not halal since they contain gelatin. They are not halal-friendly due to their containing animal-based gelatin.

Are Jolly Rancher Chews Halal

Are Jolly Rancher LolliPops Halal?

Jolly Rancher Lollipops are halal friendly and safe to enjoy.

Are Jolly Rancher LolliPops Halal

Which Jolly Ranchers Are Halal?

The following Jolly Rancher Soft Candies are halal:

  • Gummies – Original and Sour Flavors
  • Hard Candy (all flavors, including Zero Sugar)
  • Lollipops (all flavors)
  • Stix Candy (all flavors)
  • Candy Canes (all flavors)
  • Bites (Awesome Twosome)
  • Jelly Beans

Non-Halal Jolly Ranchers 

Only three varieties of Jolly Ranchers contain animal products, and these candies contain visible non-halal ingredients. Be sure to check the label to confirm that your next bite is entirely cruelty-free.

  • Jelly Hearts
  • Crunch ‘n Chew (Contains Gelatin or K-Gelatin)
  • Chews – Original (Contains Gelatin or K-Gelatin)
  • Filled Gummies Bites (Contains Gelatin or K-Gelatin)

Final Thoughts

In conclusion, whether Jolly Ranchers are halal depends on the specific ingredients used in the candy. Some flavors may contain ingredients that are not considered halal, while others do not. 

If you follow a halal diet and want to consume Jolly Ranchers, it is important to carefully read the ingredient list on the packaging to determine if the candy is suitable for your diet.


Similar Posts