Are Cheez Its Halal
Are Cheez Its Halal

Are Cheez Its Halal? What You Need To Know

Are Cheez Its halal? Are you a fan of Cheez-Its but wondering if they are halal? In this blog post, we’ll take a closer look at the ingredients of Cheez-Its to determine if they meet the guidelines for halal foods.


So, whether you’re a Muslim looking to ensure your snack choices are in line with your religious beliefs or simply curious about the halal status of Cheez-Its, read on to find out more.

Are Cheez Its Halal?

Yes, Cheez Its are halal because they don’t contain any meat or meat-derived products like gelatin or stearic acid. They’re made of wheat, vegetable oil, cheese, and seasonings, which are all halal ingredients.

According to Cheez-Its, the only animal derived ingredient in these crackers is milk. The enzymes used to make the cheese are from a microbial (yeast) source. No animal enzymes are used in Cheez-It products.

Below is the communication of Halal Guide team with Kellogg:


HalalGuide Team members,

We are so glad you took the time to connect with us. Your interest in Sunshine® Cheez-It® Crackers is appreciated and we are happy to share more information with you.

The enzymes we use in our products are not from an animal source.

For any remaining ingredients not listed above, we are often unable to provide detailed information regarding processing and sourcing since many different suppliers are used.

However, if you have a question about a certain ingredient, feel free to contact us further.

Thank you again for reaching out to us. We hope this information answers your question completely.

If there is anything else we can help you with, please contact us again by calling 1-877-453-5837. You can also visit us online at to learn more about our foods and determine which ones would work best for you and your family.


Nikki F.

Consumer Specialist, Consumer Affairs

Is Cheez Its Halal

Cheez-It Ingredients

Ingredients for this product are:

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid).
  • Vegetable oil (high oleic soybean, soybean, palm, and/or canola oil with TBHQ for freshness) Cheese made with skim milk (skim milk, whey protein, salt, cheese cultures, enzymes, annatto extract color).
  • Contains 2% or less of salt, paprika, yeast, paprika extract color, soy lecithin.

In conclusion, while the original Cheez-It recipe appears to be halal, it is important to always check the ingredient list of the specific Cheez-It product you’re interested in.


One Comment

Leave a Reply