Is Monster Energy Drink Halal
Is Monster Energy Drink Halal

Is Monster Energy Drink Halal? A Halal Monster Energy Drink Guide

Is monster energy drink halal? Monster Energy Drink is a popular energy drink brand that is enjoyed by many people around the world. However, for those who follow the Islamic dietary laws of halal, the question of whether or not Monster Energy Drink is halal is an important one. 


In this blog post, we will explore the ingredients and production process of Monster Energy Drink to determine if it is halal and suitable for consumption by those who follow the Islamic dietary laws.

Is Monster Energy Drink Halal?

Yes! Monster energy drink is halal-friendly. It does not contain alcohol, not even a tiny percentage of alcohol and none of the ingredients in monster drink are derived from animal sources. From ingredients standpoint alone, there is nothing in Red Bull that causes it to be non-halal.

With the exception of a few Monster drink flavors that contain the E210 component, the majority of Monster energy drinks are considered halal.

Monster Energy Drinks Ingredients

The ingredients in Monster are what you might expect to find in an energy drink.


  • carbonated water
  • sucrose
  • glucose
  • citric acid
  • natural flavors
  • taurine
  • sodium
  • citrate
  • color added
  • panax ginseng root extract
  • L-carnitine
  • caffeine
  • sorbic acid
  • benzoic acid
  • niacinamide
  • sodium chloride
  • glucuronolactone
  • inositol
  • guarana seed extract
  • pyridoxine hydrochloride
  • sucralose, riboflavin
  • maltodextrin
  • cyanocobalamin. Source
Is Monster Drink Halal

A Look At The Ingredients

Now, let take a couple of minutes to go through the ingredients list and clear up any confusing items that you might be questioning.

Carbonated Water

Carbonated water is the first ingredient in Monster drinks (and most other energy drinks).

Water is always halal, and the only difference between this water and others is that it has been infused with carbonated gas (which is natural and halal).


Monster drinks are made with refined white sugar. This sugar is the most commonly used sweetener in processed food and drinks, which makes it hard to escape. Sugar is halal to consume.


Glucose is halal. It is pure sugar and typically comes in a syrup form, mixed with water. Glucose is often used in energy drinks as it’s absorbed immediately by your body, giving you a quick energy boost and giving your body time to process the caffeine in the beverage.


Citric Acid

Citric acid is a naturally occurring plant-derived acid found in citrus plants. Citric acid is used in Monster drinks as both a flavouring (creating a tart, citrusy flavour) and a natural preservative.

Natural Flavors

Monster drinks were developed to compete with Red Bull. When you taste the original green Monster, it tastes very similar to the original Red Bull flavour.

Monster’s natural and artificial flavouring blend is responsible for this. These flavours, on the other hand, are all halal, so there’s no need to worry!



Taurine is a natural compound that’s typically found in animal flesh. Thankfully, though, Monster drinks are made with synthetic taurine, which makes them halal-friendly.

Sodium Citrate

Sodium citrate is a citric acid-derived concentrated salt. It’s commonly used in energy drinks and sodas as a mild preservative.

Artificial Coloring

Monster’s iconic green coloring is the result of artificial food dyes. These are all synthetically derived, though, so they aren’t an issue for halal people.

Panax Ginseng & Guarana Extract

Ginseng and guarana are two herbs that have been used for centuries to provide humans with an energy boost. Both are all-natural herbs that provide a lot of plant-based energy!

L-Carnitine & L-Tartrate

L-Carnitine and L-Tartrate both work together to give your metabolism a boost, which can help you burn fat and increase your body’s energy levels.


The caffeine used for Monster drinks is almost always synthetic.

Sorbic & Benzoic Acid

Sorbic acid and benzoic acid are both halal. They are acidic preservatives that are commonly used to make Monster drinks.

B Vitamins & Inositol

Monster drinks contain lots of synthetic and plant-based B vitamins.


Sucralose is a sugar-free, zero-calorie sweetener that’s often used in place of sugar. It’s halal and is used to make Monster drinks taste sweeter without having to add extra calories.


Salt is added to most energy drinks and sports drinks, as it helps boost your body’s electrolyte levels, which can help you sustain energy. Salt is always halal.


D-Glucuronolactone is a naturally occurring stimulant produced by our bodies. It has a similar effect to caffeine when consumed, which is why it is commonly added to energy drinks.


Maltodextrin is a common starch that’s extracted from corn. It’s readily absorbed by your body as an immediate source of sugar, which is why it’s often used in vegan mass gainers.

Is Monster Halal

Of the entire list it is the taurine that is often thought of as being an animal bi-product and it is the focus of rumors.

Taurine in energy drinks is vegan and halal. Although taurine is only naturally found in meat, most taurine today is synthetically made.

In addition, the most popular energy drink companies, such as Monster, Red Bull, and Rockstar have all confirmed that their taurine is vegan.

The majority of the ingredients in Monster come from natural, plant based sources.

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymin said: The basic principle concerning all kinds of food, drink and clothing is that they are permissible until and unless proof is established that they are haram. Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [al-Baqarah 2:29]

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.

The ingredients may vary from country to country, so we recommend you always read the entire product label to confirm that fact. It might be different for some products but not always.

Final Thoughts

Undoubtedly anything that is harmful is haram. Hence Allah forbade alcohol because it affects the mind, and smoking is forbidden because it causes widespread harm and diseases.

It is also known that there are permissible drinks which do not cause harm, such as coffee and tea, which usually do not cause harm and are usually drunk for relaxation, so there is nothing wrong with drinking them.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply