Sabritones are a well-known brand of chips. They are Sabritas’ traditional puffed wheat snacks (a Mexican snacks company owned by Pepsico). It produces and sells potato chips, corn chips, and snack foods. But are sabritones halal?
In this blog post, we’ll take a closer look at the ingredients of Sabritones to determine whether or not they are suitable for consumption by those who follow a halal diet.
Are Sabritones Halal?
Yes, sabritones are halal. Sabritones Chile & Lime Chips are halal friendly. They are made with plant based ingredients. Muslims can enjoy Sabritones brand puffed wheat snacks with the authentic chile and lime flavor of traditional Mexico.
They do not contain any ingredients that are forbidden in Islam. Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that we could find.
- Baking Soda
- Blue 1 Lake
- Blue 2 Lake
- Canola Oil
- Citric Acid
- Corn Starch
- Corn Syrup Solids
- Cottonseed Oil
- Enriched Flour (Bleached Wheat Flour)
- Folic Acid
- Lime Juice
- Maltodextrin (Made from Tapioca)
- Natural Flavors
- Red 40 Lake
- Reduced Iron
- Sunflower Oil
- Thiamin Mononitrate
- Yellow 6
- Yellow 6 Lake
The majority of the ingredients in Sabritones come from natural, plant based sources.
Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymin said: The basic principle concerning all kinds of food, drink and clothing is that they are permissible until and unless proof is established that they are haram. Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):
“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [al-Baqarah 2:29]
So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.
The ingredients may vary from country to country, so we recommend you always read the entire product label to confirm that fact. It might be different for some products but not always.
OTHER RELATED POSTS: