Is Chick Fil A Halal
Is Chick Fil A Halal

Is Chick Fil A Halal In USA, Dubai And UK?

Chick-fil-A is one of the largest American fast food restaurant chains, as well as the largest specializing in chicken sandwiches. Chick-Fil-A has been a hot topic recently, with many people asking, “Is Chick Fil A Halal or not?”


Many people enjoy Chick-Fil-A. Their chicken burgers and nuggets, which are made in Georgia, have grown in popularity year after year.

Apart from their popular menu, they are well-known for closing every Sunday. Given that it is a Christian-owned business, the main reason for doing so was to give employees the day off for prayer and worship.

Is Chick Fil A Halal In USA?

No, chick Fil A is not halal according to Islamic standards as of 2023. The restaurant does not guarantee food preparation in accordance with Shariah Law, rendering the majority of its menu items haram. Although the restaurant’s main courses are not halal, some menu items are and can be purchased by members of the Islamic community.

Representatives have repeatedly stated that they will not certify their menu items as Halal due to their diverse customer base.


Furthermore, attempts by Halal Guidance to contact Chick-Fil-A to inquire whether their chicken is Halal all resulted in Chick-Fil-A representatives saying no.

Likely, halal and haram chicken are mixed together during the process, making it impossible for restaurants to determine which is not haram to Muslims.

Is Chick Fil A Halal

What Food Items Is Halal On Chick-Fil-A’s Menu?

Although Chick-Fil-A is not considered halal, the following food items are halal-friendly:

  • Fruit cup
  • Side salads
  • Hash browns
  • English muffin
  • Waffle potato chips
  • Waffle cut potato chips

Moreover, it is always important to check your local Chick-Fil-A menu to confirm the availability of the items mentioned above and check if more items are halal.

Read also Is Vaping Haram In Islam?


Is Chick-fil-a Halal In Dubai

You should refer to your local scholars in Dubai who would know better about the source of chicken used by this restaurant chain.

Is Chick-fil-a Halal In Texas

Please refer your local Islamic scholars in Texas who are more knowledgeable about the origin of the chicken this restaurant chain uses.

Is Chick-Fil-A halal in New York

You should refer to your local scholars in New York who would be more knowledgeable about the chicken source used by this restaurant chain.


Permissibility Of Eating Meat Slaughtered by Christians and Jews

Someone sent this question to one of best and popular Fatwa website, Islamqa:

  • I have read several articles on what foods are halal and what foods are haraam. But when I go to a restaurant I still [doubt] if what I am eating is halal.
  • I know that the meat needs to be slaughtered in the name of Allah, and it shall be done by the people of the book.
  • Currently in the United States, the Christians and the Jews don’t follow the true Bible and the Torah. The Christians call Isa (may Allah be pleased with him) the son of God. Is the meat cut by these people halal, can it be eaten?

Islamqa answered him by saying:

The Christians and the Jews of the People of the Book in our times are indeed those People of the Book that are mentioned in the texts of shari’ah in the Qur’an and sunnah, and they are the kuffar (unbelievers) of the Jews and Christians that existed at the time of the Prophet (peace be upon him).

They are the people of the corrupted Torah and corrputed Injeel, as evidenced by the fact that Allah (swt) addressed them and named them “People of the Book” despite their being kuffar and their books being corrupted.

Because of this distinguishing quality, the shari’ah has specified special rulings particular to the People of the Book, and exceptions specific to them in some rulings, such as allowing marriage to the the chaste and virtuous (whether virgins or previously married) among their women and the permissibility of eating their slaughtered meat, as indicated in the following Surah Maa’ida verse 5.

With respect to slaughtered meat of the People of the Book; the slaughtered meat of People of the Book can be one of several cases:

That he slaughters it via the known way specified by shari’ah and he speaks the name of Allah upon it. In this case there is no problem in the permissibility of eating it.

That he does not slaughter it by the way specified by shari’ah as is the case if he chokes it or electrocutes it until it dies or drowns it in water until it dies or kills it by a bullet, etc.

In this case there is no doubt that eating it is haram since it is maita (meat of an animal that has died without properly being slaughtered) and Allah has forbidden it in the Qur’an Surah al-Maa’ida verse 3.

That he mentions the name of someone or something other than Allah upon it as he is slaughtering, such as the Messiah or otherwise.

Likewise there is no doubt that the meat in this case is haraam, since it is among what has been dedicated to other than Allah, which is specifically forbidden in the ayah in surat al-Maa’ida 3.

That we receive their meat and we don’t know if it has been slaughtered properly or not.

In this case the rule of thumb is that if we don’t know the way of slaughter, the default is that it is halal if it has been slaughtered by Muslims or Ahl il-Kitaab (Fatawa Islamiyya, Sheikh Abdel-Aziz Bin Baz, 3/404).

If it becomes evident to us that they have not slaughtered it properly then it would not be halal.

That we receive their meat and we don’t know what they have mentioned upon it, and in this case likewise the preferrable and recommended opinion is the permissibility of eating it,

As per the hadith in Sahih al-Bukhari via Aa’isha (may Allah be pleased with her) that some people said to the Prophet (peace be upon him) that a people come to them with meat which they do not know whether they have mentioned the name of Allah upon it or not.

The Prophet replied “Mention the name of Allah upon it and eat it.”

Conditions of Eating Meat Slaughtered By the Jews and Christians


Saying the name of Allaah is a condition of meat being halaal, and it is not excused by forgetting or not knowing, according to the most correct scholarly opinion.


Meat slaughtered by one of the people of the Book (a Jew or a Christian) is permissible subject to two conditions:

1 – That the meat be slaughtered as a Muslim does it, but cutting the throat and oesophagus and letting the blood flow.

If the animal is killed by strangling or electric shock or drowning in water, its meat is not permissible. Similarly, if a Muslim does that, the meat is not permissible.

2 – No name other than that of Allaah should be mentioned over it, such as the name of the Messiah.

The prohibition also applies to that which is offered as a sacrifice to the Messiah or to al-Zahrah, even if they did not mention a name other than that of Allaah over it. It is also haraam.


If a Muslim or a kitaabi (Jew or Christian) slaughters an animal for meat, and it is not known whether he mentioned the name of Allaah over it or not, it is permissible to eat from it, and the one who eats it should say the name of Allaah, because of the report that was narrated by al-Bukhaari (2057).

These hadiths indicate that it is not appropriate to ask about how the slaughtering was done if the one who did it is qualified to do it.

This highlights the wisdom of Islamic teachings and how Islam makes things easy for people, because if people were required to find out whether conditions are met even though the one who did the action is qualified, that would cause a great deal of difficulty and hardship, and that would make Islam a religion of hardship and difficulty.

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: It is not essential to ask about that which was slaughtered by a Muslim or a kitaabi, and how it was slaughtered, and whether the name of Allaah was mentioned over it or not.

Rather that should not be done, because that is being obstinate in religious matters. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) ate meat slaughtered by the Jews and did not ask questions.


Based on the above, whoever travels to a non-Muslim country where most of those who slaughter meat are Christians or Jews, it is halal for him to eat their meat, unless he knows that they stun the animals or mention over them the name of someone other than Allaah, as stated above.

But if the slaughterman is an idol-worshipper or communist, it is not permissible to eat meat slaughtered by him.

If the meat is haraam, it is not permissible to eat from it on the grounds of necessity, so long as a person can find food to keep him alive, such as fish, vegetables and so on.

Shaykh ‘Abd al-Rahmaan al-Barraak (may Allaah preserve him) said: “The meats available in kaafir countries are of various types.

As for fish, it is halaal in all cases, because its being halaal does not depend on the way in which it is slaughtered or on the name of Allaah being mentioned over it.

With regard to other types of meat, if the companies or individuals who produce meat are people of the Book, Jews or Christians, and it is not known from them that they kill the animal by electric shock, strangling or striking it on the head, as is well known in the west, then this meat is halal.

The Muslim should strive to avoid that which is clearly haraam and be cautious of doubtful matters so as to preserve his religious commitment and to keep his body safe from being nourished with haraam things. End quote.

And Allaah knows best.


Similar Posts