Is Cadbury dairy milk chocolate halal? Cadbury is a popular chocolate brand that is enjoyed by people around the world. One question that has come up for some consumers is whether Cadbury’s chocolate products, including their famous milk chocolate, are halal.
We will look at the Islamic perspective on Cadbury dairy milk chocolate and discuss whether or not it is halal or haram according to Islamic law.
Is Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate Halal?
Yes, Cadbury dairy milk chocolate is halal and safe to consume. Also, some (not all) Cadbury chocolate are free of animal parts and contain no alcohol. Cadbury’s chocolate isn’t halal-certified in the UK, but it is halal.
Halal means permissible and refers to a whole lot of things accepted under Islamic law (not just food). It’s often associated with meat because Islam sets out that animals should be slaughtered in a specific way.
Cadbury doesn’t halal certify its products in the UK, as they don’t include any animal products bar milk and eggs.
They confirmed that in UK, their chocolate is suitable for vegetarians & those following a Muslim diet, however they’re not Halal certified.
Related readings: Is Chocolate Liquor Halal? What You Need To Know
The only animal related products they use in UK are milk & eggs. They point out if & when their products are suitable for particular requirements or not.
To be clear, cow’s milk is nearly always halal as it does not involve the slaughter of animals or swine (pigs).
It’s only when gelatine or other animal products are used in Cadbury products that halal certification is needed.
Muslims can eat any type of non-meat food that is not harmful. So any vegetables, sweets, chocolate, and cakes that do not have animal derivatives in them are allowed to eat, whether they were done by hindus, buddhists, christians, muslims, it doesn’t matter.
As muslims, the only thing that we care about is the meat! Was it halal meat, meaning that the animal are we permitted to eat and it has to be slaughtered and the person slaughtering has to be either a muslim, a jew or a christian.
Cadbury Malaysia and Cadbury Australia, for example, each have information about their halal certification.
Cadbury products, particularly those sold in majority-Muslim countries, are certified halal by an authorized certification body. This means that they have been produced according to Islamic guidelines and are suitable for consumption by Muslims.
However, not all Cadbury products are halal-certified. In some countries, Cadbury uses animal-derived ingredients, such as beef-derived gelatine.
Cadbury’s website does provide information on the halal status of their products is Australia and Malaysia. They stated that if any of their Australian products contain gelatine in the ingredients, the gelatine they use is halal certified and derived from beef.
IslamQA confirmed that there is nothing wrong with extracting gelatin from the skin, sinews and bones of animals that are permissible to eat and have been slaughtered in the prescribed manner, or from plants that are not harmful or poisonous.
This type of gelatin is permissible, and there is nothing wrong with using it or consuming it in food or medicine.