Is Goose Halal
Is Goose Halal

Is Goose Halal or Haram? (Meat and Fat)

Is goose halal? In this blog post, we’ll explore the issue of goose meat and whether it is permissible for Muslims to consume or not. By the end of this post, you’ll have a better understanding of whether goose meat is halal and can make an informed decision about whether to include it in your diet.


Is Goose Halal?

Yes, goose is halal with no stated prohibition provided it is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law. It is permissible to eat goose meat because there is nothing to indicate that it is haram. This is because goose, like some birds, are considered halal as long as they are slaughtered according to Islamic guidelines.

Allah says:

قُل لَّآ أَجِدُ فِى مَآ أُوحِىَ إِلَىَّ مُحَرَّمًا عَلَىٰ طَاعِمٍ يَطۡعَمُهُۥٓ إِلَّآ أَن يَكُونَ مَيۡتَةً أَوۡ دَمًا مَّسۡفُوحًا أَوۡ لَحۡمَ خِنزِيرٍ فَإِنَّهُۥ رِجۡسٌ أَوۡ فِسۡقًا أُهِلَّ لِغَيۡرِ ٱللَّهِ بِهِۦۚ فَمَنِ ٱضۡطُرَّ غَيۡرَ بَاغٍ وَلَا عَادٍ فَإِنَّ رَبَّكَ غَفُورٌ رَّحِيمٌ

Say, “I do not find within that which was revealed to me [anything] forbidden to one who would eat it unless it be a dead animal or blood spilled out or the flesh of swine – for indeed, it is impure – or it be [that slaughtered in] disobedience, dedicated to other than Allah. But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], then indeed, your Lord is Forgiving and Merciful.”

Surah An’am verse 145

Why Is Goose Meat Halal?

Goose meat is halal because the basic principle with regard to food and drink is that it is permissible unless there is proof that it is haram.


An-Nawawi (may Allah have mercy on him) said:

“Our companions unanimously agreed that it is permissible to eat ostriches, chickens… ducks, sand grouse, sparrows, larks, francolin and pigeons…” Sharh al-Muhadhdhab, 7/22

He also said:

“Whatever lives in the water and on land, including waterfowl such as ducks, geese and so on, is halal as stated above, but if any of these dies of natural causes (i.e., is not slaughtered in the proper manner) it is not halal, and there is no difference of scholarly opinion on this point. Rather it is essential that it be slaughtered properly.” Sharh al-Muhadhdhab, 9/35

Is Goose meat Halal

Halal Slaughter of Goose

In Islam, animals that are not from the sea (crabs, shrimps etc) must be slaughtered in the halal way. The general guidelines for slaughter of poultry are as follows:


The slaughter needs to be carried out by a Muslim or Ahlul Kitab. Only a Muslim or an Ahlul Kitab (people of the Book) can perform the task required for the meat to be halal.

Begin by reciting the name of Allah (SWT). The first step is to recite Allah’s name (SWT).

This is to seek Allah’s (SWT) permission and carry out the slaughter in His name and only His name; the slaughter cannot be carried out in the name of any other deity.


Slaughter the animal with a sharp knife. The animal must be sacrificed quickly and with a sharp knife in order to minimise pain.

A blunt knife will only prolong the ordeal and cause the animal more pain. Directly pierce the animal’s throat, windpipe, and blood vessels.

The person must place the knife directly over the animal’s throat and windpipe and cut as precisely as possible, removing all blood vessels but not the spinal cord itself. This causes the animal to die quickly and painlessly.

Drain the blood. Before removing the animal’s head, all of the blood must be drained from the body.

This is done to purify the animal’s body of any bacteria, toxins, or germs that may be present in the animal’s blood and cause various illnesses.

Goose, like other birds, can be slaughtered using this method, making them halal for Muslims to consume.

Is Goose Haram?

No, goose is not Haram. There is no evidence to suggest that goose meat is haram, so we go back to the original principle, which is that they are halal and permissible.

In addition to being slaughtered according to Islamic guidelines, geese must also be free from any substances that are considered haram, or forbidden, in Islam.

This includes alcohol and certain animal by-products, such as pork. It is important to check the ingredients and production methods of any goose products to ensure that they meet these requirements.

Is Goose Fat Halal?

Yes, goose fat is halal. There is no evidence to suggest that it is haram, so we go back to the original principle, which is that they are permissible.

In conclusion, goose is considered halal for Muslims to eat as long as it is slaughtered according to Islamic guidelines.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Comments are closed.