Are Altoids Halal
Are Altoids Halal

Are Altoids Halal? Everything You Should Know

Are Altoids Halal? This is a question that has been asked by many Muslim consumers. As a brand of mints that is popular all over the world, it is important to determine whether Altoids are suitable for those who follow a halal diet.


In this blog, we will explore the ingredients of Altoids to determine if they meet the requirements of a halal diet and whether they are suitable for consumption by Muslims. We will also discuss alternative options for those who are looking for halal-friendly mints.

Are Altoids Halal?

Unfortunately, the classic Altoids are not halal because they are made from gelatin (pork), which is essentially a protein derived from animal cartilage, bones, and skin. However, some varieties like the Sugar-Free and Artic Altoids do not contain gelatin or other animal ingredients. 

The full ingredients on Altoids are: Sugar, Gum Arabic, Oil of Peppermint, Gelatin, and Corn Syrup. (Source)

Why Are Altoids Not Halal-Friendly?

A product is halal-friendly if it does not contain any haram (forbidden) ingredients. Altoids contain pork gelatin which is said to be non-halal.


Gelatin can be from two sources: halal gelatin, made from plants or halal slaughtered animals and gelatin made from haram animals such as pig.

It is not permissible to consume foods, drinks and medicines that contain gelatin derived from the skin of pigs or other impure substances.

Halal-Friendly Altoids Flavor

As mentioned above, not all Altoids are halal. Some of them contain gelatin, which is an animal-sourced ingredient. Check these halal-friendly flavors for your convenience.

  • Arctic Peppermint Sugarfree Mints
  • Smalls Peppermint Sugarfree Mints
  • Arctic Strawberry Sugarfree Mints
  • Arctic Wintergreen Sugarfree Mints
  • Smalls Wintergreen Sugarfree Mints
Halal Altoids

So, these sugar-free Altoids are free from gelatin. It only means one thing, they’re halal because the basic principle of foods is that they are halal until proven otherwise.

We checked their ingredients one by one, and they all show that they’re halal-friendly, which is great news to all Muslims out there!


Non-Halal Altoids Flavor

Unfortunately, not all Altoids flavors are halal, especially since some contain pork gelatin.

For what it’s worth, you should check these flavors so you don’t accidentally use them in the future.

  • Classic Peppermint Breath Mints
  • Wintergreen Mints
  • Cinnamon Mints
  • Spearmint Mints
  • Classic Wintergreen Breath Mints
  • Peppermint Mints

Halal Alternatives to Altoids

There are a few mints besides Altoids that are 100% halal, which we’re going to briefly cover below.  


Simply Mints

Simply is a brand that makes both gums and mints that are vegan-certified by Vegan Action.

They are known for using simple, natural ingredients rather than artificial ones.

Simply Mints, for example, are made with cane sugar, peppermint oil, and calcium stearate. Simply Mints are not only vegan, but also kosher and halal.

Simply mints


Vermints mints are vegan, halal, and kosher. Organic crystallised cane sugar, organic tapioca syrup, organic maple syrup, natural flavouring, agar, and gum tragacanth are all used in the Wintergreen flavour.


Root Chews

Root Chews are mints made from parsley root and peppermint oil. Since Root Chews contain no sugar, they have an extremely strong mint flavour.

Root Chews

Pur Mints

Pur mints are hala’, vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, nut-free, and soy-free.

They contain xylitol, a diabetic-friendly sugar substitute that also helps reduce plaque buildup in your teeth.

Pur mints

Final Thoughts

The original Altoids are not halal-friendly because they contain gelatin, which is obtained by boiling specific animal body parts.

However, Sugar-Free and Artic Altoids do not contain any obvious animal ingredients, so they should be safe to consume.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply