Are Candy Canes Halal
Are Candy Canes Halal

Are Candy Canes Halal? Things To Know About All Candy Canes

Are candy canes halal? Candy canes have been a beloved holiday treat for generations, but for those who follow halal dietary laws, the question of whether or not they are permissible to eat can be a tricky one.


In this blog post, we’ll take a closer look at the ingredients of candy canes to determine whether or not they are considered halal.

Are Candy Canes Halal?

Yes, for the most part, candy canes are halal-friendly. Almost all brands are made of simple ingredients like sugar, corn syrup, peppermint oil, and red food coloring. These ingredients are generally considered halal.

Are All Candy Canes Halal?

Yes, almost all candy canes you encounter will most likely be halal. Candy canes are generally a compressed sugary curved stick with food-coloring and peppermint oil.

Ingredients Of Candy Canes

The basic ingredients for a candy cane are simple. Usually along the lines of:


  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Peppermint
  • Artificial coloring

Now, let’s take a minute to give you a rundown of all of the ingredients!


The main ingredient in most candy, including candy canes, is sugar. Sugar is 100% halal as it comes from the sugarcane plant.

Corn Syrup

Candy canes contain corn syrup in addition to white sugar. Because of its light flavour, high level of sweetness, and syrup texture, corn syrup is frequently used as a secondary sweetener in sweets.

When candy is baked, it becomes harder and more crunchy, which candy canes clearly are. Having said that, corn syrup is completely halal.

Peppermint Flavor

Brands use peppermint oil to make their candy canes. This is what gives them such a sharp, refreshing flavor that cools your entire mouth down. Peppermint is halal as it’s 100% plant-based.


Are all Candy Canes Halal

There is no evidence to suggest that any of these ingredients are not halal. In fact, all of these ingredients are commonly used in a variety of food products and are not considered haram in Islam.

Therefore, it is safe to say that candy canes are halal.

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allah have mercy on him) said:


The basic principle with regard to food is that it is permissible, except that for which there is evidence that it is prohibited. If we are uncertain about something, whether it is halal or haram, the basic principle is that it is permissible unless we find proof that it is prohibited.

The evidence for that is the verse in which Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [surah al-Baqarah 2:29]. That includes everything on earth, animals, plants, clothing and so on.

A few things to keep:

Even though companies manufacture halal candy canes or candy canes that may be accidentally halal, that doesn’t mean their other products are also halal.

It is up to you to understand the labels, and if you do not, contact the company to ask your questions.

Brands can change their halal ingredients and recipes over time.

If cross-contamination is an issue for you, look for cross-contamination statements on the package or website.

Depending on your level of comfort, it is up to you whether or not you want to purchase. If you are still not satisfied, or you can’t find the info you are looking for, contact the company directly.

In conclusion, while traditional candy canes made with sugar, corn syrup, and peppermint flavoring are generally considered halal, it’s always a good idea to check the ingredient list and production process before consuming any food product.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply